Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following resources contain far more than just government information, but they do contain access to publications such as the Congressional Digest, the Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report and the National Journal.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews of topics, including arguments on multiple sides of an issue. In addition to original essays, includes articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio/TV transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Where to find Data and Statistics by Topic
The following are some of the best resources available when searching for Government Information.
FDsys - Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that enables GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
The FedWorld.gov web site is a gateway to government information. This site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) as part of it's information management mandate.
A portal to the 3 branches of New York State's Government and, and the many departments they include. Important forms such as Tax forms, voter registration forms and others made available by the state government can be found here.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
A compilation of both historical and modern documents and resources that have helped to define America's Modern Democracy.
Provides full-text access to current and recent U.S. Congressional and legislative documents. Includes some historical documents.
The following resources all fill a niche for finding Government Information.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
A series of online books dealing with 101 foreign countries, describing and analyzing their political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions.
Excelsior This link opens in a new window
The New York State Library's Catalog.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Browse the full array of digitized collections at the Library of Congress.
World Factbook (CIA) This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.