Suggested Resources for Case Law and Primary Federal Documents
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowExcellent specifically for supreme court cases, primary documents from the federal government, and for finding law journal articles with commentaries on cases.
- Justia: Supreme Court CenterA source for recent decisions and news regarding the U.S. Supreme Court, as well as a collection of "full-text opinions from 1791 to the present."
- Legal Information Institute (Cornell)A resource for recent Supreme Court decisions, and a toolbox for analyzing the court.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThe primary source for information, filings, and primary documents for the court.
Useful resources for context
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowPolitical Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
- SCOTUSblogA widely read blog analyzing the U.S. Supreme Court
