Library Website : Legal Studies: Primary Sources

Legal Documents

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.

FindLaw: U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
National Archives: Judicial Materials
Supreme Court Opinions (via Cornell Law School)
Includes Supreme Court opinions under the auspices of Project Hermes, the Court's electronic-dissemination project.

Coverage: From May 1990 to current, and selected pre-1990 opinions.
U.S. Judicial Branch Resources
Contains links to U.S. Judicial Branch resources on the web as well as other sites specializing in legal information.

Presidential Documents

American Memory
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Harper's Magazine Archive
National Archives: Executive Materials
National Archives: Presidential Libraries
The Living Room Candidate
more...less...
This site offers an online exhibition presenting more than 250 television presidential campaign commercials from every election year from 1952 through 2004. The site includes a searchable database and features commentary, historical background, and election results. Navigation is organized by both year and theme. Requires Windows Media Player or Real Player.
USA Election Polls

Legislative Documents

Congress.gov
Provides full-text access to current and recent U.S. Congressional and legislative documents. Includes some historical documents.
National Archives: Legislative Materials
United Nations Treaty Collection
A searchable database of all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary- General of the United Nations and those formerly deposited with the League of Nations - their latest status and a link to the full texts.
more...less...
Also includes bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat in accordance with Article 102 up to a certain date - Detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s), as well as recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published - available for viewing and downloading in some or all of their authentic languages.

Need More Help?

If you need help with your research, sign up for a one-on-one Research Consultation with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.

Legal Studies: Primary Sources

Legal Documents

Presidential Documents

Legislative Documents

Need More Help?

Fraser Hall Library | SUNY Geneseo

Connect With Us!

CIT HelpDesk

Writing Learning Center (WLC)