Online Manuscript Facsimilies
- Digital Library of Medieval ManuscriptsIncludes Roman de la Rose, a joint digital project based of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
- Digital ScriptoriumThis database contains a substantial database of digitized manuscripts from a score of American university collections, including Rutgers.
- E-codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of SwitzerlandA growing virtual collection of hundreds of medieval manuscripts housed in Swiss repositories.
- Early Manuscripts at Oxford UniversityThis site provides access to digital images of over 80 medieval manuscripts.
Digital Medieval Sources
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- EuroDocsA large repository of online primary source documents throughout Europe's history.
- Internet Medieval SourcebookThis web page organized by Fordham University provides links to web pages with Medieval and Byzantine texts.
- The Parliament Rolls of Medieval England This link opens in a new windowTranscriptions from the manuscript rolls of all parliaments which survive for the period 1275 to 1504. The transcriptions - in Latin, Anglo-Norman or Middle English - are presented in parallel with a modern English translation. There is also a description of each parliament of the period, including for those of which no roll survives.
- Public MedievalistProminent example of people exploring Medievalism. Not peer reviewed but produced by experts.
Image Collections & Search Tools
- Bayeux Tapestry This link opens in a new windowThe Bayeux Tapestry remains one of the most celebrated examples of medieval material culture. This eleventh-century textile, over 230 feet in length and just twenty inches high, is an account of the Norman Conquest and the Battle of Hastings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR consumed ArtSTOR, and you can now use the Images tab to search for artwork.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is made up of two major art reference works: Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world. Benezit offers unique information about the sale and collection of artists’ work, and it is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources of artists’ biographies available. In addition, users can search and access Oxford art reference titles including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Princeton Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowThe collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, it now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.
