Conflict Studies Librarian
Open Web
The open web provides a plethora of resources for finding data. Below are data resources arranged by general topic or try using advanced Google searching.
Tips for searching Google include:
• Try using Google Advanced Search
• Include search terms like data or table
• Google ignores the word AND as a search operator. But typing OR in all caps will find similar or related terms (e.g. women OR females OR girls).
• Search for a particular document type (e.g. childhood obesity filetype:xls)
• Search for data on a particular site or domain (e.g. childhood obesity site:.gov)
• Exclude words by using the "-" sign in front of the word you wish to exclude
Demographic-Socio Statistics
- Explore Census DataProvides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.
- American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
- Data.govData.gov is the Federal government's one-stop shop for data of all kinds, including GIS and scientific data.
- Disability StatisticsMajor statistical data sources on disability
- DoD PERSONNEL AND MILITARY CASUALTY STATISTICSMilitary casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
- General Social SurveyA standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
- ICPSR & ArchiveContains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.
- Kids Count Data BookAssesses child well-being nationally via 16 key indicators 1990-present
- Links to World StatisticsClick on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
- locallabs.orgFreely available socio-economic data by zip code, city, county, or state.
- National Center for Children in PovertyThe National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
- National Centre for Social ResearchData and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
- Office of Immigration StatisticsCompendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
- Oxford Poverty & Human Development InitiativeIncludes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
- United Nations DataA portal to search UN data from a wide variety of UN agencies.
- United Nations Demographic YearbookInternational statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce.
- World BankA compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.
- World Development ReportProvides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.
- World Factbook (CIA) This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.
Not what you're looking for?
- Milne Library Data CollectionsBrowse data sets and repositories by topic
