Welcome to the Museum Studies research guide. This guide provides helpful information to assist you in conducting research for your courses. You will find a range of resources including eBooks, journals, online materials and other useful information. To begin, simply navigate through the tabs located above.
Museum Studies at Geneseo
If you have an interest in museums, consider exploring Geneseo's Museum Studies minor. This program provides a wealth of knowledge and experience to help you gain insight into the history and curation of museums. To learn more about the program and how it can help you achieve your career goals, visit the Museum Studies Minor page.
Pursuing a Career in Museum Studies
Are you interested in furthering your education in Museum Studies Minor? You may want to check out the Directory of Museum Studies and Related Programs, which can help you find the perfect graduate program to match your interests and aspirations.
References
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject. See the below Art History recommendations to start researching your subject
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
The Routledge Handbook of Museums Media and Communication by
Museums today find themselves within a mediatised society, where everyday life is conducted in a data-full and technology-rich context. In fact, museums are themselves mediatised: they present a uniquely media-centred environment, in which communicative media is a constitutive property of their organisation and of the visitor experience. The Routledge Handbook of Museums, Media and Communication explores what it means to take mediated communication as a key concept for museum studies and as a sensitising lens for media-related museum practice on the ground. Including contributions from experts around the world, this original and innovative Handbook shares a nuanced and precise understanding of media, media concepts and media terminology, rehearsing new locations for writing on museum media and giving voice to new subject alignments. As a whole, the volume breaks new ground by reframing mediated museum communication as a resource for an inclusive understanding of current museum developments. The Routledge Handbook of Museums, Media and Communication will appeal to both students and scholars, as well as to practitioners involved in the visioning, design and delivery of mediated communication in the museum. It teaches us not just how to study museums, but how to go about being a museum in today's world.
ISBN: 9780367580438Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Museum Educator's Handbook by
Described by GEM* as 'a very informative and practical book ... worth having on any museum shelf', the Museum Educator's Handbook is a thorough and practical guide to setting up and running education services in all types of museum, even the smallest, in any geographical setting. This third edition has been comprehensively updated to reflect the increased emphasis on the role of museums at all levels of education, from schools to further and higher education. There are new sections which deal with the importance of risk management and quality assurance, as well as guidance on the prevalent use of policy documents and new marketing methods. *Group for Education in Museums
ISBN: 9781317093046Publication Date: 2016-04-15
Rights and Reproductions by
Management and dissemination of the Intellectual Property (IP) assets maintained by cultural institutions is a key responsibility of caring for collections. Rights and reproductions methodologies are seemingly ever-changing with new technologies, additional distribution avenues, evolving case law, applicable court decisions, and new legislation. This new edition of Rights & Reproductions: The Handbook for Cultural Institutions marks the first time this valuable publication is available in print as well as digital. Building upon the guidelines, standards, and best practices outlined in the first edition, the Handbook further investigates current trends in rights and reproductions practices, notably expanding the discussion of fair use guidelines and codes, Creative Commons and RightsStatements.org, open access, social media applications, and the overall process of conducting rights clearances and obtaining permissions for the growing list of possible uses of a cultural institution's IP. Highlights of the second edition include: -A new chapter devoted to fair use and open access -Overall updates to applicable case law, rights clearance practices, and distribution partners -Over 20 case studies outlining real-world examples from the authors' experiences and practices at their institutions -Expanded glossary defining terms so they are easy to understand -Updated appendices with new references, resources, and court decisions -Over 50 contract and document templates provided by the authors' institutions The Handbook is the must-have, comprehensive resource for cultural institution professionals handling rights-related work, including registrars, rights and reproductions managers, archivists, librarians, and lawyers.
ISBN: 9781538112663Publication Date: 2018-11-27
