Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
Some of the research tools listed below have the full text of primary sources and some will help you identify primary sources that you then need to request via the IDS service.
Google News Archive Search
Indexes Time, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Guardian and The Washington Post, some magazines,
and aggregators including Factiva, LexisNexis, Thomson Gale and HighBeam Research, offfering citations and some content free,
with links to free and fee-based content.
Google Book Search
Many full text books, many that just have excerpts and snippets.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Brings together articles, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities. ”Teaching Tools” has 21 comprehensive lesson plans with over 100 lesson ideas and six Document-Based Question units.
AfricaBib This link opens in a new window
Lists articles from periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent. Indexes articles from over 246 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
Need More Help?
If you need help with your research, sign up for a one-on-one Research Consultation with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.
Web Pages with Historical Speeches, Interviews or Broadcasts