Welcome
Welcome to the Music studies research guide. This guide gives you helpful information to help you conduct research for your classes. You will find various resources, including eBooks, scores, journals, online materials, and other useful information. All campus community members can access music materials like recordings and scores through the library regardless of their major. Digital resources, including streaming audio, video, and digital scores, are available for on- and off-campus use with the Geneseo account or through open-access websites.
Music Studies at Geneseo
If interested in music studies, consider exploring Geneseo's music programs. This program provides a wealth of knowledge and experience to help you gain insight into the field. To learn more about the program and how it can help you achieve your career goals, visit the Department of Music & Musical Theatre webpage.
References
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject. See the below Music recommendations to start researching your topic.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by
Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including: cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.
ISBN: 9780824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by
This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. The Harvard Dictionary of Music has long been admired for its wide range as well as its reliability. This treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Throughout this Fourth Edition, existing articles have been fine-tuned and new entries added so that the dictionary fully reflects current music scholarship and recent developments in musical culture. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments. More than 220 drawings and 250 musical examples enhance the text. This is an invaluable book that no music lover can afford to be without.
ISBN: 9780674011632Publication Date: 2003-11-28
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New Grove II. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New Grove II presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
ISBN: 9780195170672Publication Date: 2004-01-29
