Geographic Information Systems (GIS)/Geotechnology

A repository of Federal, State, and Local Maps and Data

U.S. Maps and Data

The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data.

A collection of 7,908 worldwide and regional geographic data layers, scanned historic maps and associated descriptive information that can be searched mapped and downloaded for use with your GIS software.

A gateway to resources that help visualize national geospatial data in map format.

GIS data with a Meteorological slant issued by the National Weather Service

Interactive query access to geographic boundary files, Census attribute data for various levels of statistical and political geography, and predefined thematic maps illustrating various economic and demographic characteristics of the population

A resource that provides access to free downloads of various layers of National Geospatial Data.

The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.

"Provides soil data and information [in map form] produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey."

"A component of NASAs Earth Observing System (EOS) Data and Information System (EOSDIS). LP DAAC processes, archives, and distributes land data and products derived from the EOS sensors."

"CUGIR provides geospatial data and metadata for New York State, with special emphasis on those natural features relevant to agriculture, ecology, natural resources, and human-environment interactions."

A collection of Orthoimagery collected by and for New York State since 1990.

GIS data about New York on a wide variety of subjects.

This portal, hosted by NASA’s Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC), provides access to a wide range of global data, associated documentation, and visualization and analysis tools, and to the community of experts on global data.

Select and download free geographic (GIS) data for any country in the world

International Satellite Imagery and shaded relief with datasets available to enhance the imagery.

Geospatial information from the Canadian federal government, including topographic maps and GIS data.

"The GLCF is a center for land cover science with a focus on research using remotely sensed satellite data and products to assess land cover change for local to global systems."

This resource houses NASA's "Precipitation, Hydrology, and Atmospheric Composition and Dynamics data and information," and the Goddard Space Flight Center's National and International Land Data Assimilation Systems.

LandSat data: circa 1990/2000.

A gateway to sources of Orthoimagery from around the world.

A comprehensive guide to concepts and techniques in GIS and their application and/or implementation.

Terrain Modeling and Mapping Techniques using several GIS tools.