The Assignment (Research Portion)
Research assignment #1 due in class as paper copy. Using Fraser Library’s historic newspaper databases (19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive, New York Times Archive Search, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, or The London Times Digital Archive), locate three articles that address the Civil War (three articles dealing with the same incident or three articles about separate incidents).
o You might have to play around with search terms in order to find useful material. Consider concepts and events that we’ve already read about or look for new information.
o Then, analyze the articles in a 3-4 page paper, paying particular attention to the rhetoric of journalists. How is war addressed? How are the people described? Why is this topic important?
o In addition to the research essay, please also submit your research notes for this assignment.
Databases for 19th Century News
- 19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers using advanced searching capabilities. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFirst published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
