Primary Sources
These resources will be useful for both your primary source analysis project (using the 19th Century Newspapers tool below) and for if you elect the research paper option for your final paper.
- 19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowUse to find the 3 China-related historical news articles for you Primary Source Analysis
- Archive.orgContains digitized history collections of primary sources.
- East View Global press Archive:Contains Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese newspapers (currently free to access)
- Google BooksThis resource is excellent for searching and previewing recent scholarly publications. It is also excellent for finding and downloading digitized historical publications. For example, it supports customized searches that limit the publication time to a specific historical period.)
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThis is the best open-access database for digitized China-related newspaper, journals, pamphlets, rare books and manuscripts published before the 1950s.
For example, browse its collection of Millard’s Review of the Far East, link. Millard’s Review of the Far East (1917-1922) was a weekly Shanghai-based English-language publication that featured original reporting, reports on China-related subjects, and opinion. The paper was co-founded by American journalist and newspaper editor Thomas Franklin Fairfax Millard, who was considered an architect and leading voice of American journalism in China and about China in the Republican period.
- Ling Long MagazineHas useful primary sources on middle class lifestyles in the 1930s in Shanghai.
- Marxists' Internet ArchiveContains digitized writings that include Chinese leftists and intellectuals.
- PRC HistoryLinks and resources for studying the history of the PRC.
- Virtual Shanghai PlatformContains digitized images and historical material on Shanghai (esp. before the 1950s).
- YMCA ArchivesUse the "search collections" tool to search for China. These records are provided by the University of Minnesota.
- Archives Unbound: Asian Studies CollectionsThis has a number of collections of papers and records regarding China, Shanghai, and Taiwan.
- Mission Periodicals Online: The Chinese RecorderThere are copies of the Chinese Recorder that are freely online listed on this website.
- Archives Unbound: Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945A collection of resources from the British Municipal police force in the international settlement.
