Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In these databases, the "GET IT" button will enable you to request the book from another library if Geneseo does not have it.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from Milne Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a massive full-text digital library comprising more than 10 million volumes contributed by more than 60 major research institutions and libraries.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Use these databases to search for scholarly History journal articles (secondary sources):
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
These databases may also be useful when searching for scholarly articles on gender and the body:
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexes of over 500 journals, books, and reference works, and full-text access to over 300. Includes a thesaurus of LGBT terminology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most complete listing of scholarly publications in psychology and related fields. Provides references to and summaries of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Compilations of Web Pages
This site is compilation of resources pertaining to American History- there are sources made available to users from the Smithsonian Institution, and a variety of Libraries.
National Archives -- Women
This site lists multiple web sites relevant to women in the United States.
Women's and Gender Studies
A guide from the University of Michigan that lists multiple useful sites.
U.S. Government Documents
FDsys - Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that enables GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Provides full-text access to current and recent U.S. Congressional and legislative documents. Includes some historical documents.
Central source for up-to-date statistics from U.S. government; includes some reports analyzing statistics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.