Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- You will review the Research Guide and learn how to find and use collections of primary sources
- Find at least one primary source, either from the Women Working database or a news source.
- You will learn how to use library databases to find scholarly journal articles
- Find at least one scholarly article that fits your topic or a topic of interest
You will learn how to use these resources to refine and focus your topic.
Resources for the class session
Women Working, 1800-1930 This link opens in a new window
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the U.S. economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Covers 1991 to present.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.