Developing a Topic
- Ideation: Come up with a general idea based on your interests and on the course content
- Background Research: Find out more about the topic, including sub-topics, basic information, and how it connects to your course topics.
- Narrowing or New Topic: Select a sub-topic based on what you find, or pick a new topic if there is not enough material (if so, return to step 1)
- In-Depth Research: Begin researching your sub-topic more deeply. Repeat prior steps as necessary.
Resources for the class session
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowAn ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
