About ISM
An Individualized Studies Major (ISM), either as a B.A. or B.S., allows students to assemble courses from two or more prefixes to create an interdisciplinary major that doesn't already exist. Recent ISMs have included Theatre as Social Therapy, Corporate Education, and Childhood Development through Play.
Housed in the Center for Integrative Learning, the Individualized Studies Majors - known at some colleges as “Design Your Own Major” programs - meet Geneseo learning outcomes (GLOBE) by helping you connect knowledge and skills across areas and make connections to issues facing today’s society.
INTD 275
Looking to build your research skills? Enroll in INTD 275, a 1-credit online, asynchronous course that is offered in the second half of fall and spring semesters.
INTD 275 Information Research Strategies is taught by a faculty librarian that focuses on developing students’ research abilities to hone their “information literacy”—the ability to recognize when information is needed and knowing how to locate, evaluate, and effectively use that information for academic research. Offerings of this course will focus on information literacy concepts, which may include developing research questions/topics, accessing information sources, formulating search strategies, analyzing sources critically, utilizing library-specific collections, managing information, publishing scholarly content, or using information ethically. Course work in this class will include readings, viewing multimedia, discussions, and a variety of assignments that emphasize the processes involved in research.
Popular Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
- Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new windowSearches Gale's OneFile and Infotrac databases which cover a wide array of scholarly journals, magazines, and news publications.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than a million records, some of which are available in full-text.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe most complete listing of scholarly publications in psychology and related fields. Provides references to and summaries of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
For the full list of databases, visit A-Z Databases.
Helpful Research Guides
Librarian
