Sociology Librarian
Finding Relevant Journals
Instead of trying to search every single journal on this list, make a smaller list of journals that are relevant to your topic.
1. Check the title. If your topic deals with religion, then journals with "religion" or "religious" in the title are probably a safe bet!
2. Read the journal's scope. Most journals have a website you can find by putting the title into a Google search. Look for a section called "About This Journal" or "Aims & Scope" - this will give you an idea of what kinds of articles the journal typically publishes.
Links to Approved Journals
Titles marked by an asterisk are only available through IDS.
Databases You Can Use
Each journal's page in GLOCAT will give you a list of the databases the journal is indexed in.
These three databases have the widest coverage of approved journals and are a good place to start looking.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowSociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
