Databases
To enrich your research, I would suggest exploring subject-specific databases after carrying out a thorough background study on your topic. For this course, you can use the following:
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowWorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from Milne Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
- GLOCATThe library's catalog is a good source to start your research. Use "Advanced Search" to limit your searches by material type and collections. You can also narrow down your results by "peer reviewed" or "open access" materials.
Journals
If you are researching Canadian Literature, it's essential to consider various relevant publications. You may want to explore trade magazine articles, peer-reviewed articles, and scholarly articles, which can provide you with a wealth of information. All of these publications can be accessed through the library's collection of journals, giving you plenty of options to choose from.
Click here to access the Library Collection of Journals.
Tip: Consider asking your professor for suggestions on relevant journal titles. They can provide valuable insights to enhance your research.
