Journals titles in the library's collection
When conducting research in Latin American and Caribbean studies, it's essential to explore a variety of relevant publications, including peer-reviewed and scholarly articles. The library's collection of journals provides access to these publications, offering plenty of options. You can browse this collection using keywords such as "Latin American studies" or "Caribbean studies." Here are some examples of journals in the collection:
Other databases to find these type of sources
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressThis database is a valuable collection of Mexican American publications from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico, spanning the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican NewspapersYou can explore a comprehensive collection of newspapers that track the evolution of Mexico during the independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). This valuable resource is available as an open-access database.
- International Coalition on Newspapers ICONThis resource provides comprehensive information about newspapers published outside of the United States, including detailed bibliographic descriptions of titles and institutional holdings.
- South America CollectionsThe South American Collection features a diverse range of materials with a geographic focus on South America. This carefully curated selection of digitized resources effectively demonstrates the University of Florida Libraries' comprehensive intellectual coverage of the region. Over the years, the Libraries have diligently acquired and preserved a wide array of books, journals, newspapers, maps, and other materials in various formats, ensuring comprehensive coverage of all countries and cultures within South America.
- Publicaciones Periódicas del UruguayIn order to access full-text of 19th and 20th century newspapers and journals published in Uruguay, you can navigate to the "Presentación" section and utilize the "Índice de títulos" to easily find information about each publication and links to the full text.
Newspapers
Newspapers serve as an invaluable resource for staying updated on current topics relevant to your research assignment. The library provides access to a diverse range of newspaper titles from around the world through various databases.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 13,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
- World News Archive - Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2—part of CRL's World Newspaper Archive—feature nearly 300 historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
- World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean This link opens in a new windowWorld Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean provides a portal with access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad. The archive and portal serve as both integrated and standalone resources.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
- Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new windowSearch articles stretching back more than 200 years, from the archives of Time Magazine, The Guardian, CNN, the San Francisco Chronicle, the New York Times, the Washington Post and aggregators like LexisNexis and Factiva.
