Political Science

Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.

Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.

Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.

A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.

A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.

Downloadable campaign finance information

Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats. Dates are variable, but generally 1945+

Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.

Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.

Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Includes information and statistics for thousands of cities and counties in the United States. Browse alphabetically by state or search by city, county or zip code.

A storage point for government data to preserve it in the face governmental censorship or data destruction.

A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

Explore the wealth of human development data and insights from around the world, including the Human Development Index (HDI), the complementary composite indices on gender gaps, inequality, poverty, planetary pressures, and thematic dashboards on quality of human development, life-course gender gap, women’s empowerment, environmental and socioeconomic sustainability and others.

Contains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.

Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).

Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.

Search multiple UN statistical databases for a particular indicator or by country.

A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.

Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

Browse data sets and repositories by topic