Historic Local Newspapers Available on Microfilm
Allegany County
- Angelica Reporter, 1837-1870
- Genesee Valley Press (Belmont), 1863-1889
Genesee County
- Spirit of the Times (Batavia), 1822-1869
- Republican Advocate (Batavia), 1822-1876, 1891
- LeRoy Gazette News, 1826-1902
Livingston County
- Livingston Register (Geneseo), 1824-1840
- Livingston Republican/Livingston County Leader - Republican (Geneseo), 1837-1994
- Genesee Valley Herald (Geneseo), 1868-1869
- Livingston County News, 1990-2003, 2009-2021
- Clarion, 1989-2007
Monroe County
- Democrat and Chronicle, 1969-2010
Ontario County
- Western Repository (Canandaigua), 1803-1805
- Ontario Repository and Freeman (Canandaigua), 1809-1826, 1836-1837
- Geneva Courier, 1831-1851
Also available in this collection is microfilm of the College's student newspaper, the Lamron, for 1922 through 1974. A full run of print issues is kept in the College Archives.
Other Collections on Microfilm
- Iroquois Indians: A Documentary History (also online)
- Wadsworth Family Papers at the Library Congress, 1730-1952
- William Pryor Letchworth Papers, 1859-1911
- Robert Morris Papers. Account Books, 1791-1801
- U.S. Census (New York State, selected counties - 1790-1880, 1900-1930).
- Name indexes to the 1810-1860 censuses are available in the Genesee Valley Historical Collection (Milne 218) at call numbers beginning gen F118 .J
- See the U.S. Census Bureau website for online access to historical census data
To access microfilm, please fill out the form to Schedule an Appointment to use College Archives and Special Collections materials.
Digitized Historical Newspapers
-
Advanced GLOCAT (some full-text)Search Milne Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content. Select "College Archives and Special Collections" to limit your search results to materials found within SUNY Geneseo's archives and special collections.
-
New York State Historic NewspapersThe New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state.
-
Democrat & Chronicle (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowSearch and access Democrat & Chronicle newspaper issues from 1871 to the present! Articles are images of the original paper in PDF format. The most recent issue is 21 days behind the current date to allow time for digitization and hosting.
-
Rochester Newspaper Index (index only)A project of Rochester Public Library, this index covers many early Rochester newspapers including the Rochester Daily Democrat, the Working Man's Advocate, and the Rochester Republican.
-
New York State Newspaper ProjectList of microfilmed newspapers held by the New York State Library and other repositories throughout New York State, with detailed holdings and location information. Searchable by county, city and title of publication, and keyword.
-
Geneseo and Livingston County: Local History Notes Taken from the Livingston Republican and Other Sources (print, index only)Highly selective subject index to Livingston County newspapers, especially the Livingston Republican. Compiled from extensive notes taken by SUNY Geneseo Professor Emeritus Bruce Klee for his local history column, ”Valley Chronicles,” which appeared in the weekly Livingston County Leader (later the Livingston County Leader/Republican).
Shelved at gen F129 G3 K54 2002 v.1-2 -
Fulton HistoryArchival historic newspaper website with access to over 1,000 New York newspapers in addition to a smaller number from other states and Canada. Fulton History boasts over 57,000,000 newspaper page scans available to search on their website.
Other Non-Newspaper Serials/Journals
-
Rochester HistoryThis database offers full-text articles written by the historian(s) of the city of Rochester. Although the articles themselves are secondary sources, they are based on primary sources. Articles cover all eras of Rochester and Western New York history.
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
Special Collections Librarian
Maureen Weinman
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Milne Library 110
(585) 245-5676
Subjects: Local and Geneseo History
