WELCOME!
Explore the tabs above to discover local and SUNY-Geneseo history resources available in Fraser Hall Library, and beyond. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for research assistance and to request access to physical materials held in our Special Collections. Materials not owned by the Library can usually be borrowed through Information Delivery Services (IDS).
Nearby Collections to Visit and Browse
- Genesee Valley Historical CollectionSUNY Geneseo Library's local history collection covers the eight counties surrounding the Genesee River in New York State: Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Steuben, and Wyoming. The collection includes over 5,900 volumes, microfilm, historic maps, atlases, and other formats. Use GLOCAT (Advanced Search) to find materials in this collection, or one of the finding aids listed elsewhere in this guide.
- Rochester Public Library - Local History & Genealogy DivisionThe largest collection of primary and secondary source materials about the history of Rochester and the Genesee Valley in the region, including genealogical resources. Materials do not circulate; they must be used on site.
- University of Rochester Special CollectionsLocated in Rush Rhees Library, on UR's River Campus, these collections contain many unique treasures and important collections, with a particular focus on the Rochester area. Follow the links to digitized collections. Follow the links to Search RBSCP (Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation) and for information on Using the Collections.
- Wadsworth Library, GeneseoGeneseo's public library, part of the Pioneer Library System, has a small collection of local history books. Search Wadsworth's collection, or all member libraries' holdings, via OWLL, under the "Catalogs" tab.
Search for Books (and More!)
While Fraser Hall Library's collections (except TERC) are not open for browsing, you can still discover local and college history materials held by the Library, AND held by libraries both in the area and around the world. There are several ways to submit a request to borrow or access items, including directly from the GLOCAT record by clicking on the "Pick up at Fraser," "Get It," or "Request access at Fraser Hall Library" buttons.
- GLOCAT (Advanced Search)Search SUNY Geneseo's Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowAlthough a GLOCAT search will include the contents of WorldCat (and vice versa), the interface and search features of WorldCat may work better for some research needs.
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from SUNY Geneseo's Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
Find Digitized Books
GLOCAT and WorldCat will lead you to digital copies of millions of books in both Google Books and Hathi Trust (and other OER sources), but you can search these sites on their own. You can read or download many in their entirety, some just snippets, or follow the links to borrow or purchase copies.
- Google Book Search Many full text books, many that just have excerpts and snippets.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
