Library Website : Local and SUNY Geneseo History: Other Libraries

Search Other Libraries

GLOCAT (Advanced Search)
Search SUNY Geneseo's Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content. Select "College Archives and Special Collections" to limit your search results to materials found within SUNY Geneseo's archives and special collections.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from SUNY Geneseo's Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.

OWWL.org
The website of the Pioneer Library System (PLS), its OWWL Catalog allows users to search the holdings of the 42 public libraries in Livingston, Ontario, Wyoming and Wayne counties.
Southern Tier Library System
Follow the link to STARCAT to search the holdings of public libraries in Allegany, Steuben, Chemung, Yates and Schuyler counties.
Nioga Library System
Search the holdings of public libraries in Genesee, Orleans and Niagara counties.

Genesee Valley Historical Collection
SUNY Geneseo Library's local history collection covers the eight counties surrounding the Genesee River in New York State: Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Steuben, and Wyoming. The collection includes over 5,900 volumes, microfilm, historic maps, atlases, and other formats. Use GLOCAT (Advanced Search) to find materials in this collection, or one of the finding aResource Sharing (IDS) listed elsewhere in this guide.
Rochester Public Library - Local History & Genealogy Division
The largest collection of primary and secondary source materials about the history of Rochester and the Genesee Valley in the region, including genealogical resources. Materials do not circulate; they must be used on site.
University of Rochester Special Collections
Located in Rush Rhees Library, on UR's River Campus, these collections contain many unique treasures and important collections, with a particular focus on the Rochester area. Follow the links to digitized collections.
Wadsworth Library
Geneseo's public library, part of the OWWL Library System, offers adult and children's collections, as well as a small collection of local history books. Search Wadsworth's collection, or all member libraries' holdings, via the OWWL catalog.

Guide to Local History and Archives Collections in the Genesee Valley
Profiles of local history collections held by libraries, historical societies, churches and other archives in the Rochester region, produced by the Rochester Regional Library Council (RRLC). Last updated in June 2006, some information (e.g., urls) may be outdated, but overall still a useful resource.

Fordham University Libraries Guide-New York Government & Historical Documents
LibGuide published by Fordham University Libraries with selected resources for finding New York City and New York State government documents.

Historical Documents Inventory
The Historical Documents Inventory (HDI) contains more than 23,000 catalog records for archives and manuscripts collections housed locally at repositories throughout New York State (libraries, historical societies, and other organizations with established archives), excluding the holdings of the State Library and the State Archives.