Library Website : Literature, Linguistics, &amp; Grammar: Effective Searching

Effective Database Searching

Zotero Citation Software

Citation software (also called "bibliographic software," "citation managers," or "reference managers") helps you to:

import citations from your favorite databases and websites.
build and organize, and format citations for papers.
take notes on articles and save them in your collection of citations.
save and organize pdfs, screenshots, graphs, images, and other files for your research.

SUNY Geneseo does not currently support any citation software, but Zotero is a free, open source software. Check out the guide for getting started with Zotero.

Evalutating Resources

Get WARP'D!
Think critically when using information from web pages. Consder these issues before you use a web page as a source for a research paper.

Writing Style--citations, grammar, precise writing rather than generalizations, no personal attacks rather than answering an argument.

Author--what are the author's credentials? (e.g. education, background, and employer. What else have they published? *Check Resource Sharing (IDS) Search, Google Scholar & article databases like ProQuest, PsychInfo, or Scopus).

Read--read the information and decide for yourself. Look for synthesis -- it distinguishes research from reports.

Purpose--(look for "About us") Any bias? Is it for commerce, to advocate, or inform?

Date--Publication or last revision date

Using Resource Sharing (IDS)

If you find an article in one of the library databases that doesn't have a PDF icon, click on the image of GLOCAT "Get it" button button to access the full text. One of two things will happen: 1) either we have access to the full text from one our databases and the article will open in a new window, or 2) a window will open with a link to request it through Resource Sharing (IDS):
Image of "Request Item through InterLibrary Loan"

Click on this link, then use your Geneseo username and password to log into Resource Sharing (IDS). (If you haven't set up your account, you will have to fill out a brief form to do so. You will only have to fill this out once):
Image of journal request form in InterLibrary Loan