Music

This collection consists of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920. The collection includes many songs from the heyday of antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from the abolitionist movement of the same period.

Choral Public Domain Library is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.

List maintained by Duke University.

Largely focuses on chamber music, with composers such as Brahms and Beethoven.

A community-built library of public domain sheet music. Extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.

Contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years 1870-1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.

**CAUTION** Limited to two free downloads per day.

Presents 3,042 pieces of sheet music drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, which holds an important, representative, and comprehensive collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century American sheet music. This selection presents a significant perspective on American history and culture through a variety of music types including bel canto, minstrel songs, protest songs, sentimental songs, patriot

The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.

Also host a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music. The respective editors, arrangers and composers have chosen to make these works freely available

Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.