Music

A collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions.

Contains 145,000 song titles (mostly popular music) from 1,500 sheet music collections (song books, magazines, and other collections). It indexes the collections of the California Library System Reference Centers and some of the libraries in their systems. It is maintained by the San Joaquin Valley Information Service.

Located at Columbia College in Chicago, the Center for Black Music Research (CBMR) has been in existence since 1983, and is “devoted to collecting materials about black music the world over.” With this broad and compelling mission, it is not surprising to learn that they have an extensive library with over 2900 catalogued books, 11000 sound recordings, and 3300 scores and pieces of sheet music.

This is a series of indexes derived from a database of musical information compiled from primary sources covering the 250 years of the initial exploration and settlement of the United States. It consists of over 75,000 entries that are sorted by text (titles, first lines, recitatives, chorus, and burden), by music incipits (represented in scale degrees, stressed notes, and interval sequences), with additional indexes of names and theater works. Now in electronic format, the data can be fully searched, not only for initial strings but also for internal words and melody sections.

Library of Congress's digital materials.

This site was created and is maintained by Professor Z. Philip Ambrose of the University of Vermont, and it contains English translations to the vocal works of Bach, along with introductory information on the sources and on performance history of each work. Visitors can browse a list of headings on the left-hand side of the homepage which offers a list of relevant abbreviations, texts for lost works, and a complete listing of Bach’s various vocal works, organized by composition type.

Digitized images of the extraordinary collection of autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs, and first editions donated by Bruce Kovner in 2006 and subsequently.

The Gaylord Music Library aims to fulfill the music information requirements of the WashU community by offering a wide range of music books, scores, sound recordings, videos & DVDs, and research collections. This comprehensive collection is designed to assist faculty and student endeavors.

Maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University. (Note: Some restricted to Harvard only)

More than 400,000 reviews. Search by artist, album, song, style, or label. Access information on new releases, music styles, music maps (guides to the evolution of a musical genre), articles, and a glossary. Entries on artists include a musician/musical group's history, roots and influences, musical style, discography, guest performances, and reviews.

A searchable archive of over 30,000 CDs, with over 23,000 reviews from 1983 to the present.