Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Library Catalog
GLOCAT (Search for material in Milne Library and outside of Milne Library)
Children's Books Online
This online library of illustrated books is a volunteer-driven project. It has grown slowly since 1996 from the work of a single man and a handful of books, to a vibrant volunteer-driven organization publishing new books and translations every week.
Feedbooks is a publishing and distribution service for ebooks.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
There are many full-text books available through Google Books. Using the Advanced Search screen, check off ”Full view only” under ”Search”.
Gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
Gutenberg-e was created in collaboration with the American Historical Association. It publishes digital books in African and colonial Latin American history, based on a yearly dissertation competition.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a massive full-text digital library comprising more than 10 million volumes contributed by more than 60 major research institutions and libraries.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Website
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
The CLCD is the premier academic and research resource for courses needing to locate Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over one million of fiction/non-fiction titles, thousands of awards and quality reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The database offers multiple options including 50 search filters to find materials for determining interest & reading levels; selecting trade books based on standards; creating thematic, annotated biographies; interpreting reviews; developing classroom collections and more.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Young Adult Library Services Association
The Best Books for Young Adults committee each year selects and annotates a list of significant adult and young adult books, as well as chooses a list of top ten titles from the full list. It is a general list of fiction and nonfiction titles selected for their proven or potential appeal to the personal reading tastes of the young adult.
New books in Education
High Leverage Practices for Inclusive Classrooms by James McLeskey is Professor in the School of Special Education, School Psychology, and Early Childhood Studies at the University of Florida. Lawrence Maheady is Professor and Horace Mann Endowed Chair in the Exceptional Education Department at SUNY Buffalo State. Bonnie Billingsley is Professor of Teaching and Learning at Virginia Tech. She teaches in both the teacher preparation and doctoral programs at Virginia Tech. Mary T. Brownell is Professor of Special Education at the University of Florida and Director of the Collaboration for Effective Educator Development, Accountability and Reform (CEEDAR) Center. Timothy J. Lewis is Professor of Special Education at the University of Missouri. Dr. Lewis is the Associate Editor of the Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions and is a member of thirteen other editorial boards.
Home, School, and Community Collaboration by Filled with practical suggestions and reflective opportunities, Home, School, and Community Collaboration, Third Edition uses the culturally responsive family support model as a framework to prepare teachers to work with diverse families. This text includes contributions from 22 experts in the field, offering a wide range of perspectives on issues of family involvement that today's teachers are likely to encounter. Authors Kathy B. Grant and Julie A. Ray offer the latest research on family demographics, including those with children who have special needs. Numerous real-life vignettes and case studies have been incorporated throughout the text to show readers the practical application of culturally responsive family engagement.
Teaching STEM Outdoors by Connect nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning for young children with activities, real-life examples, and educator resources. Nurture young children's innate tendencies toward exploration, sensory stimulation, and STEM learning when you connect outdoor learning and STEM curriculum. Discover the developmental benefits of outdoor learning and how the rich diversity of settings and materials of nature gives rise to questions and inquiry for deeper learning. Full of activities, examples, and resources to take the fun of STEM outside, this book will help teachers articulate connections between nature play, outdoor experiences, and STEM learning in young children. Use STEM and nature-based learning to nurture children's curiosity and exploration of the world. Patty Born Selly is an assistant professor of environmental education and STEM at Hamline University. She previously served as the executive director of the National Center for STEM Elementary Education at St. Catherine University. Selly has over twenty years of experience in early childhood education, has written two books, and regularly consults other educators on science and nature education approaches for young children.