Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Law Books in Reference
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
Call Number: ref KF4117 .E53 2008
Special Education Law by
Call Number: ref KF4210 .G84 1993
Education Reform by
Call Number: ref LA212 .F75 2004
Current Events in Education Law
A source for information and conversation on law and education.
Education Law Association
The Education Law Association is a national, nonprofit member association offering unbiased information to its members about current legal issues affecting education and the rights of those involved in education in both public and private K-12 schools, universities, and colleges.
Education Week School Law Blog
Covers news and analysis on legal developments affecting schools, educators and parents.
The White House - Education Policy
Providing a high-quality education for all children is critical to America’s economic future. Our nation’s economic competitiveness and the path to the American Dream depend on providing every child with an education that will enable them to succeed in a global economy that is predicated on knowledge and innovation. President Obama is committed to providing every child access to a complete and competitive education, from cradle through career.
The Legislative Resources and Where to Find Them
Searching for Laws, Cases, News and Legislation in Databases/Catalogs
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than a million records, some of which are available in full-text.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from Milne Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
Searching for Statutes, Hearings, Cases and Policies on the Internet
Provides full-text access to current and recent U.S. Congressional and legislative documents. Includes some historical documents.
Dedicated to research and public education on the principles of constitutional republican government.
Federal Digital System
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
There are many full-text books available through Google Books. Using the Advanced Search screen, check off ”Full view only” under ”Search”.
NYS - Key Laws and Regulations
These Rules of the Regents and Regulations of the Commissioner of Education ("regulations") are unofficial, and are presented for general informational purposes as a public service. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that these regulations are current, complete and accurate, the State Education Department does not warrant or represent that they are current, complete and accurate. These regulations are subject to change on a regular basis. Readers are advised to consult Title 8 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (8 NYCRR), published by the Department of State, and the State Registerexternal link for the official exposition of the text of these regulations, as well as for amendments and any subsequent changes or revisions thereto.
US Department of Education: Policies
Legislation, regulations, guidance, and other policy documents from the Department of Education, organized by topic.