Getting Started
Examine the resources here for Case Studies and other Research based articles applying GIS to any of a number of scenarios.
This map shows how GIS was used to capture a sex offender based on their activity in Toronto
Image obtained from: http://www.miller-mccune.com/legal-affairs/gis-cops-favor-new-kind-of-plotting-4464/
Multidisciplinary Resources
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new windowIndexes 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 1990 to the present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Recommended Resources
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains more than 9 million full-text articles and 60 million citations and abstracts from 2,300 journals in the natural and social sciences, medicine, technology, and business.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and more.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Other Resources
- Public Access to AMS PublicationsArchive of American Meteorological Society Journals. Articles before ~2004 are free. All issues of the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society are free.
- Americal Meteorological Society Journal ArchiveArchive of American Meteorological Society Journals. Articles before ~2004 are free. All issues of the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society are free.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowContains citations and some full-text of articles on global warming, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution. Includes scholarly journals and popular magazines, going back to around 1975.
