Finding Books in the Library and Beyond
- Milne Library BooksClick on the available physical materials button to search for books in the Milne library collection
The main library collection is now contained in closed stacks. This means that, apart from TERC books, you can no longer browse the collection physically or retrieve books to check out by yourself. To find and obtain books from the collection:
- Search for the books using the GLOCAT search bar. It now defaults to searching for physical materials in the library
- Sign in to your account if you aren't already signed in, using the yellow bar that pops up
- Click on the title of the book you want, click on "Pick up at Fraser" and click submit
- The library staff will pick up the book and email you when it is ready for you to pick up at Fraser
Digital Books
- Google Book Search Many full text books, many that just have excerpts and snippets.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a massive full-text digital library comprising more than 10 million volumes contributed by more than 60 major research institutions and libraries.
- Internet Text ArchiveAn open-access website providing full-text copies of selected books from such sources as American Libraries, Canadian Libraries, Project Gutenberg and Children's Library
Finding Scholarly History Articles
In these databases, you can limit your search to "Peer Review" if you need to find scholarly articles.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains federal and state governmental and legal documents, including debates on the floor of congress, federal and state statues, regulations, and supreme court decisions.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBTQ+ Source provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms and a collection of 200 videos that present first-person accounts from those in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer community.
- Women's Studies Archive: Voice and Vision This link opens in a new windowWomen’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
Local History Sources
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new windowInfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
- New York Historic NewspapersThe New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state.
- Rochester Newspaper Index (index only)A project of Rochester Public Library, this index covers many early Rochester newspapers including the Rochester Daily Democrat, the Working Man's Advocate, and the Rochester Republican.
19th, 20th, and 21st Century Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
- 19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers using advanced searching capabilities. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Covers 1991 to present.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowComprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
- The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFirst published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
