Multidisciplinary Databases
When conducting research on your chosen topic, it's important to utilize various resources that can provide you with a better insight and understanding of the context surrounding it. For this purpose, multidisciplinary databases can prove to be a valuable source, as they can offer you access to secondary sources and help you familiarize yourself with the existing discourse on your topic.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 13,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Primary sources
To make the most of your research efforts, remember to log in to your Geneseo account when you're working off-campus. This will give you access to a wealth of primary sources collections that can help you with your assignment. Don't miss out on this valuable resource!
- African History and Culture, 1540-1921 This link opens in a new windowCreated from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, African History and Culture, 1540-1921, includes more than 1,300 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history, peoples, and social and economic development of the African continent from the 16th century to the early 20th century. All areas of Africa and important adjacent regions are covered.
- Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa This link opens in a new windowStruggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world which document colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. The resource consists of 76 different collections of more than 20,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, pamphlets, speeches, and interviews with those who participated in the struggles.
- Aluka World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new windowThe resource is made up of more than 86,000 objects in 30 subcollections which link visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowSpanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, Empire Online enables researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture, trade, travel, and society. With primary source material from African, American, French, Dutch, Indian, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives, Empire Online provides varying points-of-view for comparative research. The vast selection of printed, manuscript and visual primary source documents available within this digital resource are supported with interactive teaching tools to enable the demonstration of the theories, practices and consequences of empire.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowUse the collection Archive Unbound: Africa Studies
- World News Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new windowPart of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other locales.
African American Databases
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new windowExploring Race in Society provides context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
- Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 13,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
- The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFirst published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
