About the Library: What's New at Milne Library

Assistive Technology Room

Location: 2nd Floor (Main), Room 216

The first of its kind for Geneseo's library, the Assistive Technology Room is a dual- purpose room that can be used as a private space for dictation, as well as for accessibility needs. Priority must be given to patrons with accessibility needs.

This room includes:

• Fast PC workstation with top-of-the-line processing power and memory
• FUSION software: JAWS text-to-speech screen-reader and ZoomText screen magnifier
• DRAGON speech-to-text dictation software
• Headphones and thumbwheel mouse (ideal for patrons with limited hand mobility)
• Motorized adjustable height desk
• Bariatric ergonomic adjustable chair

Books & Bites Café

Location: 2nd Floor (Main)

• Enter through the main entrance
• Freshly made-to-order sandwiches, wraps, smoothies, and lattes
• Cappuccino machine
• Spacious seating
• Accepts FAST accounts
• Hours (subject to change):
  • Monday-Friday:  7:30am to 5pm
  • Saturdays and Sundays: CLOSED

CIT HelpDesk 

Location: 2nd Floor (Main)

• Network setup (including WiFi and VPN)
• Adding printers
• Academic software installation
• Sign-out and support for technology available for loan
• Answering general computer questions
• Color & B/W Printers located on every floor

Computer Lab 

Location: 2nd Floor (Main)

• Eight all-in-one MS Windows computers
• Eight iMac computers
• Accessibility workstation

1st Floor (Lower level) Entrance

Location:  South side of building across from Blake Hall

Lower Level Entrance Door Hours

• Monday-Friday: 7:30am to 6pm
• Saturday: LOCKED
• Sunday: LOCKED

Geneseo Authors’ Hall 

Location: 2nd Floor (Main) 

A collection of over 90 years of Geneseo Authors' publications.

Library Instruction Classrooms 

Locations: 3rd Floor (Upper), Rooms 301, 302, 303,  and 319

Milne Library’s instruction program educates and assists library users with their research needs. The academic faculty librarians accomplish this by collaborating with teaching professors to support course objectives and specific assignments in student-centered instruction.

• Visit the Faculty Services page to learn more about our Library Instruction program.
• Faculty can reserve a classroom for Library Instruction.

Michele the Library Dog Meeting Space 

Location: 2nd Floor (Main)

Visit Michele the Library Dog at the comfy seating area behind the main staircase on the Main Level on Thursdays!

Michele's schedule: 

• 1st, 3rd, and 5th Thursday of the month, from 10am–11am
• 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month, from 1pm–2pm

Multi-Purpose Room 

Location: 1st Floor (Lower), Rooms 134 and 129

Multi-Purpose Rooms A & B (Rooms 134  and 129) are event spaces that can also be used for studying when not otherwise engaged.

• The Multi-Purpose Room can be reserved by contacting the Office of Scheduling and Events in accordance with the Facilities Use Policies.

Publishing & Creativity Studio

Location: 2nd Floor (Main), Room 215

A studio space with supplies, tools, and equipment for the Geneseo community to engage with both digital and physical bookmaking on multiple levels—from single-issue handmade zines to fully digital publications!

Quiet Study Areas

Locations:  

1st Floor (Lower), Room 100   

3rd Floor (Upper), Rooms 304 and 311

• Study booths with individual lighting
• Study tables with privacy dividers
• Sound-muffling study booths
• Power and charging ports

Research Instruction Services

Location: 2nd Floor (Main), Suite 206

• Schedule a one-on-one or small group Research Consultation with a Librarian.
• Not sure who to contact? Find Your Subject Librarian.

Reservable Group Study Rooms 

Location: 3rd Floor (Upper)

• There are 15 Group Study rooms total.
• Rooms are reservable for geneseo.edu addresses only.
• Each room has a whiteboard, chairs, and tables. Two rooms have 55” video displays for use with Airtame.
• Each room is reservable via:
  • QR code on the wall next to each room
  • QR code on digital signs throughout the building, or
  • Group Study Room Reservation page
• Rooms are reservable for up to 2 hours a day per room.  For more information on frequency limits and room usage expectations, visit the Group Study Room Policies page. 

Signage and Posters

Please view the College Sign and Poster Regulation Policies.

Special Collections Reading Room 

Location: 1st Floor (Lower), Room 100A

A large collection of local history materials, including material from the eight counties included in the Genesee River watershed in New York State: Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Steuben, and Wyoming.

• Large bed scanner
• Microfilm scanner
• For more information, visit the College Archives and Special Collections webpages 

Teacher Education Resource Center 

Location: 3rd Floor (Upper), Room 317

Materials in the collection include: children’s and young adult fiction, nonfiction, and biographies; picture books; board books; big books; graphic novels; teaching strategy guides; textbooks; blocks; games; musical instruments, puppets; manipulatives; and toys.

• For more information, visit the TERC webpage.

Writing Learning Center 

Location: 2nd Floor (Main), Room 203 

The Writing Learning Center provides free peer-tutor writing assistance for all students. You can drop by or schedule an appointment via Navigate.

• This new large room includes study tables and a couch.
• For more information, visit the Writing Learning Center website.

All-Gender Restrooms

Located on every floor

Additional features

• LED lighting on all floors
• New furniture 
• Power and charging ports at study tables
• Beautiful views of the Genesee Valley