Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives & Special Collections: All Special Collections

Special Collections

  • For in-depth research questions, including anything involving the Wadsworth Family Papers or the Carl Schmidt Collection in Historic Architecture, please make an appointment using our Consultation Form.
  • To request access to specific in-library use special collections items, please use ourform.

College Archives Collection

1999 Yearbook Photo from Special Collections College Archives Cropped

The College Archives Collection includes faculty publications, books published by alumni and students, yearbooks, the Lamron (student newspaper), ENCompass (college newspaper), departmental and alumni newsletters, photographs, and more.

LEARN MORE

Martha Blow Wadsworth Photographs

Abigail Adams G.C._Montagna G.Cary near Belfast_NY

A subcollection of the Wadsworth Family Papers, this includes thirty-three albums, and approximately 350 glass lantern slides, of photographs taken by Martha Blow Wadsworth (1864-1934) between 1890 and World War I. 

LEARN MORE

Walter Harding Collection

The Walter Harding Collection consists primarily of Harding's writings about Henry David Thoreau and transcendentalism. Harding, a member of SUNY Geneseo's English faculty from 1956 until his retirement in 1983, was one of the 20th century's most prominent Thoreau scholars.

LEARN MORE

Carl Schmidt Collection in Historic Architecture

Schmidt measured drawing

The Carl F. Schmidt (1894-1988) Collection includes notes, manuscripts, slides, photographs, pencil sketches and measured drawings created and collected by Schmidt in preparing his many books on historical architecture, which focus primarily on homes in the Genesee Valley area.

LEARN MORE

Traditional Music & Dance in NY State

O'Keefe Marty fiddle Ted McGraw accordion at GCV fiddlers

The James W. Kimball Traditional Music and Dance in New York State Collection is a curated selection of Kimball’s significant research recordings between 1976-2008, and includes unique interviews and community performances of notable fiddlers, square dance callers, dance musicians, and community members whose knowledge bridges 19th-century repertory to contemporary practice of the tradition.

LEARN MORE

Genesee Valley Historical Collection

Geneseo Main and Park Avenue Historical photo

The Genesee Valley Historical Collection is the Library's largest and most accessible collection of local history materials.  Its geographical scope covers eight counties surrounding the Genesee River in New York State.

LEARN MORE

Wadsworth Family Papers

Hunt with horses and hounds

The Wadsworth Collections concern the first and continued settlement of land in the Genesee region known as the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, and cover the years 1790 to about 1950.

LEARN MORE

"X" Special Collection

The Roycrofter , 1928

The "X" Special Collection consists mainly of rare books held by the Library, plus books that are extremely fragile and/or valuable. It also includes an extensive collection of writings by and about Aldous Huxley and portions of the Walter Harding Collection. (The "X" Special Collection is so called because all of the call numbers within it are preceded by an "X.")

LEARN MORE