PLSC 344: Climate Change Leadership

Is Google Scholar reliable?

It can be! You'll want to pay attention to the specific article more than Google Scholar as a whole - some sources will inevitably be more reliable than others. Google Scholar won't limit to just political science articles, which may be a good or bad thing depending on what you're searching for. It can be a great place to start, just make sure what you're looking at is actually a peer-reviewed article! (If you need help determining if something is scholarly or not, you can always ask a librarian!)

Where can I find statistics/data?

A lot of times, statistics and data will be used as evidence in the articles you find in any of the databases we talked about, so you can always look there! If you're still not finding what you want, we have a guide to an assortment of data collections you can look through.

Where can I find primary sources?

For countries other than the US, your best bet will be either HeinOnline or going directly to the country's website. PAIS Index also has a selection of government documents, so it might be worth looking there as well!

Are there other databases that might be helpful?

The Databases & Resources tab has a few other databases we didn't touch on in class that might be helpful, especially:

How can I narrow down/broaden my search?

We have a Develop Database Search Skills guide available, but if you're spending more than 5 or 10 minutes struggling to find a source you can use, come meet with me!

How do I get the full text of an article?

The Requesting Articles via IDS page has instructions on how to request materials we don't have. It's free to use, and articles will typically arrive within 24 hours.

...Old!

The coverage dates listed on the database refer specifically to when the articles were published - meaning you might still be able to find articles discussing a policy from the 70s or earlier in these databases. If you can't, however, it might be worth checking in a database like JSTOR or scheduling an appointment with me.

...Not in English!

I'd recommend focusing on finding secondary sources that are in English first. If you're having a hard time finding any, then schedule an appointment with me!

...Not widely written about!

There's a few reasons you could be struggling to find sources about your topic. It's possible that it's just not being written about, or it's possible that your search isn't as effective as it could be. In either case, get in touch with me and we'll see what we can find.

How do I know I'm using a good source?

When you're staring at hundreds of results, it can be difficult to know if you're choosing the best source. Start by skimming the abstract if it's available - if your topic isn't mentioned there, it likely won't be mentioned in the paper and you can move on. From there, it's really a question of using your judgement. There's a few questions you can ask yourself about your chosen source that can help you determine if it's a good quality source:

Timeliness

• When was this source published?
• Has it ever been updated?
• Do I need up-to-date information?
• Would an older/newer source be better?

Relevance

• Does this source discuss at least part of my topic?
• Does this allow me to build on my topic?
• Does this provide a point I can expand on or disprove?
• Does this source fall within the parameters of the assignment?

Authority

• Who is the author?
• Does the source tell me anything about the author?
• Is the author qualified to speak on the subject?
• Where did the author get their information from?
• What are the author's credentials?

Purpose

• What process did the author go through to create the source?
• What is the purpose of the source?
• Is the purpose clearly defined?
• Who is the intended audience?
• What does the author gain from this information being available?

How do I know when I have enough sources?

The number of sources you'll need for any given assignment depends on the professor. Your goal is to thoroughly explore your research topic. In some cases, that might mean having several articles that explore different arguments or ways of thinking about the issue. It might mean having articles that address different facets of your topic. Ultimately, you're trying to bring together or synthesize information from a variety of viewpoints into a single argument. If you're ever having trouble determining what sources you need, schedule an appointment or send me an email and I'm happy to help you find what you're looking for!

There are three ways to get in touch with me:

• Email me at csparkman@geneseo.edu
• Schedule an appointment during my office hours
• Submit a question via the Ask Max! form