Search Techniques
Citation Tracking
Citation Tracking
Citation tracking refers to the practice of using the bibliography or reference list of a key article to find other suitable articles, and then to search for more recent articles that cite the key article in their bibliographies or reference lists. There are several databases that allow you to do this; Google Scholar and Scopus are particularly useful for citation tracking.
"The Response of the Moderate Wing of the Civil Rights Movement to War in Vietnam"
Advice on Searching for Primary Sources
First, don't restrict yourself to library databases. Primary source collections are often found free online, depending on the subject you are researching.
Second, when you use library databases you will get limited results if you try to search for "primary sources" because the Library of Congress does not use that subject heading. If a "Primary Sources" category is not available (JSTOR provides one that is very useful!) Try searching these subject headings instead:
- sources
- personal narratives
- documents
- speeches
- memoirs or autobiographies
- diaries
- letters or correspondences
- oral histories
SOME ADVICE ON AUTOBIOGRAPHIES: You will get limited results searching for the word "autobiography" since the Library of Congress does not use that subject heading. Try searching for "biography" but then look to make sure that the author is also listed as a subject. That is your clue that the person is writing about him or herself, and that is a primary source.
DOCUMENTARY HISTORIES: There are collections of documents relating to various subjects, such as Agriculture in the United States: A Documentary History. Search WorldCat or IDS for these by typing your subject along with the phrase "documentary history" in quotes.
DOCUMENTARY FILMS: Be wary of "documentaries" (films) because sometimes they are primary sources but sometimes they provide analysis that is secondary.
PUBLICATION DATES: Be aware that publication dates can be misleading. A new edition of a book published in 1952 is still a primary source even though its publication date is 2009. Look for a books original publication date, which is usually listed as well.
