Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In economic terms, consumption involves all the goods and services used by households. Consumer behavior is the study of the whether, what, when, where, how, from whom, and how often households purchase goods and services.
The study of these factors can involve many disciplines, including economics, business, psychology, demographics, etc.
Consumer Research Guide
Government Information Services
A guide created by Emeritus Professor Paul Scipione; this guide will introduce you to the major resources related to Consumer Behavior produced by different branches of the government and made freely available to the public.
There is a tremendous amount of information out there. This guide will introduce you to a few of the major resources available.
Library Instruction Session Handout
Find Articles (Recommended Databases)
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of records, including company profiles, industry rankings, investment reports, industry news, and more. Great for finding primary and secondary NAICS codes for a particular company or industry.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The most complete listing of scholarly publications in psychology and related fields. Provides references to and summaries of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Recent News Items from the New York Times