Recommended Resouces
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowMilne Library currently subscribes to the New York Times which grants members of the College community access to New York Times articles from the present day back to 1851. Please visit the following URL for instructions on signing up for an academic pass: https://library.geneseo.edu/accessnytimes
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Google News Archive Search This link opens in a new windowSearch articles stretching back more than 200 years, from the archives of Time Magazine, The Guardian, CNN, the San Francisco Chronicle, the New York Times, the Washington Post and aggregators like LexisNexis and Factiva.
- InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new windowInfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- New York Historic NewspapersThe New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state.
- Rochester Newspaper Index (index only)A project of Rochester Public Library, this index covers many early Rochester newspapers including the Rochester Daily Democrat, the Working Man's Advocate, and the Rochester Republican.
- New York State Newspaper ProjectList of microfilmed newspapers held by the New York State Library and other repositories throughout New York State, with detailed holdings and location information. Searchable by county, city and title of publication, and keyword.
- Reuters Business and FinanceAnother source for information on companies, industries, and financial markets. Includes coverage of mutual funds and small business.
How can I read this article?
Click on the title of the article (or the 
PDF icon or "full text" link).
OR
Click on the 
button
Multimedia
- History.com VideoSearch videos on a variety of subjects.
- PBSSearch both national programming and locally produced PBS shows.
- Twitter SearchUse a keyword search to find out what's happening in real-time regarding the subject or country/region of interest to you.
News Sources
Search Google for Official Sites by Locale
When looking for official country, state or city websites, a good rule of thumb is to limit your domain (within the advanced search) to the appropriate abbreviation.
For country sites, refer to a list of country-specific domains. Add your topic to Google and add site:fr (if France is the country of choice).
For state sites, limit the domain to state.state abbreviation.us (i.e. state.ny.us). Add your topic to Google and add site:state.ny.us.
For county/city/town sites, the process isn't as cut and dry. Try adding your topic, the name of the city of interest and limit to the appropriate state. For example, a Google search might be health Rochester site:ny.us. Some cities/towns will list their websites under ci.name of town.ny.us (i.e. ci.webster.ny.us). Others will use a .org (i.e. geneseony.org, townofbrighton.org, cityofchicago.org). Even still, cities may refer to the broader county is which they're located (i.e. co.monroe.ny.us, co.livingston.state.ny.us).
Other Resources
- bizjournals.comFull text access to articles from forty U.S. city business newspapers, including Business First of Buffalo. Useful for profiling job prospects for key companies and gauging the business climate of a specific city.
- History in the News: The Middle EastProvides links to resources for the study of the Middle East: history, culture, society, religion, economics, politics, maps, news, and media.
- News and Periodical Resources (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new windowLists the best websites for finding news periodicals published online.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowContains comprehensive full-text for major U.S. and international newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowComprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage for 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Rochester Business JournalRegistration Required
Article citations and abstracts from articles on Rochester area companies and other Rochester business topics may be easily found when Search Archives is selected. The full text of the articles may then be read using the Library's print issues of the Rochester Business Journal.
Useful for profiling job prospects and local employers. - The LamronThe Lamron is published by the Student Association of SUNY at Geneseo and is the official student newspaper on the SUNY Geneseo campus. Online coverage from November 16, 2006 - present.
- New Hope, PA Foreign Newspaper (English editions)A list of foreign newspapers (who have english editions or translations available on the net). Mostly, listed are sites that are both published and hosted in the country listed.
- 50 Free press release distribution resourcesList of free press release submission services.
