Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting your research?
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
These multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of subject areas and can be an excellent starting place for just about any topic!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Subject specific databases
These databases might be a little trickier to use than the databases in the first column and the articles might be a little tougher to understand, but they can also provide you with some of the best information available on the subjects you are researching. We have far more databases than what is listed here, but this should get you started.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
I can't find my topic in these databases!
Keep in mind that we have hundreds of databases that cover a wide range of topics. If you cannot find something, it's possible you're not looking in the right place. Please do not hesitate to ask us if you have any questions, that's what we are here for!
For a greater variety of databases on other subjects go to http://library.geneseo.edu/.
Database Search Tips
Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).
Use quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
Search authors as a subject to eliminate works written by the author instead of about them.
Use a Thesaurus and subject headings/desriptors provided in your results list to help you come up with even more search terms:
Limit to peer-reviewed (or at least scholarly) articles to find those most desirable for work at the college level. (Peer-review explained: Some journals require articles to be reviewed by other professionals in a particular field before they can be published. These are considered the cream of the crop in scholarly articles.)
How can I read this article?
Click on the title of the article (or the PDF icon or "full text" link).
Click on the button
Print journals are shelved alphabetically by journal title on the UPPER level.