Questions? Ask Becky!
Becky Leathersich
She/Her/Hers
Books in the TERC
-
Reading Strategy Lessons for Science and Social Studies
by
Call Number: TERC curr 372.4 ROB 2009ISBN: 9780439926423Publication Date: 2009-02-01 -
Ada Twist, Scientist
by
Inspired by real-life makers Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, this beloved #1 bestseller champions STEM, girl power and women scientists in a rollicking celebration of curiosity, the power perseverance, and the importance of asking "Why?" Don't miss Ada's further adventures-with her friends Iggy Peck and Rosie Revere-in the instant New York Times bestseller Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters, the first all-new chapter book starring The Questioneers!Ada Twist's head is full of questions. Like her classmates Iggy and Rosie-stars of their own New York Times bestselling picture books Iggy Peck, Architect and Rosie Revere, Engineer-Ada has always been endlessly curious. Even when her fact-finding missions and elaborate scientific experiments don't go as planned, Ada learns the value of thinking her way through problems and continuing to stay curious.
Call Number: TERC juv P BEAISBN: 9781419721373Publication Date: 2016-09-06 -
Luminous
by
In this "surprisingly simple yet mesmerizing introduction to a wonder of the natural world" (Kirkus STARRED Review), kids aged 4 to 8 will marvel at the science of bioluminescence through stunning images of glowing creatures and other organisms. When it's dark out, we need light to see. But what if your body could make its own light? From acclaimed author-illustrator Julia Kuo comes a remarkable picture book about bioluminescence, the light made from living things, and its many forms: fireflies and foxfire, fungi and glow-worms, deep-sea fish and vampire squids. Kuo's radiant art portrays a young child and adult discovering different bioluminescent creatures, accompanied by simple lyrical text and informative sidebars that reveal fascinating scientific facts about each of them. An introduction to an extraordinary natural phenomenon, Luminous shines a light upon how truly wondrous the world is. Luminous features: Brilliant and unique illustrations: The depiction of vibrant bioluminescent species against an unusual black backdrop creates an unforgettable visual experience for readers. The science of bioluminescence: Shares the real-life magic of bioluminescence with sidebars about the various places and species in which bioluminescence is found. Text can be read on two levels: Kuo's simple and poetic narrative is accompanied by scientific facts about bioluminescence.
Call Number: TERC juv P KUOISBN: 9781771648882Publication Date: 2022-11-22 -
Mars! Earthlings Welcome
by
From writer Stacy McAnulty and illustrator Stevie Lewis, Mars! Earthlings Welcome is a light-hearted nonfiction picture book about the red planet--told from the perspective of Mars himself... Meet Mars! The red planet. Planet Marvelous. Favorite sibling of Earth (or so he claims). Sometimes they're close (just 34.5 million miles apart). Sometimes they need space (250 million miles apart)! Earth and Mars have a lot in common--clouds, mountains, polar icecaps. And while Earth has Earthlings, Mars makes a persuasive case for why people should make the journey to spend time with him. His day is 7 minutes longer! He is home to the largest volcano in the whole solar system. He's, well, marvelous. With characteristic humor and charm, Stacy McAnulty channels the voice of Mars in this next celestial "autobiography" in the Our Universe series. Rich with kid-friendly facts and beautifully brought to life by Stevie Lewis, this is an equally charming and irresistible picture book.
Call Number: TERC juv P MCAISBN: 9781250256881Publication Date: 2021-02-23 -
If Bees Disappeared
by
What would happen if bees disappeared? Find out in this fourth book from Lily Williams in the award-winning If Animals Disappeared Series that imagines the consequences of a world without bees. The rolling hills and lush climate of Kent, England are home to many creatures. These creatures are fluffy, sneaky, spikey, and ... small, like the bee. Though bees are small, their importance is BIG. Today there are over 250,000 species of bees but all of them are in danger. Because of disease, pesticide exposure, lack of foraging habitats, and poor nutrition, entire honey bee hives are dying. What would happen if bees disappeared completely? Artist Lily Williams explores how such a loss would effect not just bees' environment, but the world as a whole in this poignant, beautiful book about the importance of our most important bees.
Call Number: TERC juv P WILISBN: 9781250232458Publication Date: 2021-03-16
Teaching Strategy Guides
-
Elementary Science Methods
by
As teachers and parents, we often hear that children are the best scientists. Great science teachers tune in to children's interests and observations to create engaging and effective lessons. This focus on the innate curiosity of children, or humans overall is celebrated and used to justify and support efforts around STEM teaching and learning. Yet, when we discuss elementary school teachers, we often hear many inside and outside the classroom report that these teachers dislike, fear, and feel uncomfortable with science. This is exactly the opposite approach from what is universally recommended by science education scholars. This practical textbook meets the immediate, contextual needs of future and current elementary teachers by using an assets-based approach to science teaching, showing how to create inquiry-based lessons, differentiate instruction and lesson design based on children's developmental ages and needs, and providing easy-to-use tools to advocate for scientific teaching and learning guided by the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).
Call Number: curr 372.3 MAD 2022ISBN: 9781538127124Publication Date: 2022-01-17 -
Problem-Based Learning in the Earth and Space Science Classroom, K-12
by
Implementing PBL is difficult for teachers, and few curriculum guides are available to support their efforts. This book fills that gap by providing the kinds of strategies and examples teachers need to facilitate open-ended inquiry in their science classrooms." -- Peggy A. Ertmer, Professor Emerita of Learning Design and Technology, Purdue University, and Founding Editor of the Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-Based Learning. If you' ve ever asked yourself whether problem-based learning (PBL) can bring new life to both your teaching and your students' learning, here' s your answer: Yes. This all-in-one guide will help you engage your students in scenarios that represent real-world science in all its messy, thought-provoking glory. The scenarios will prompt K- 12 students to work collaboratively on analyzing problems, asking questions, posing hypotheses, and constructing solutions This book is both informative and practical. In addition to complete lesson plans that support the Next Generation Science Standards, the book offers extensive examples, instructions, and tips. The lessons cover four categories: Earth' s landforms and water, the rock cycle and plate tectonics, weather, and astronomy. Just like Problem-Based Learning in the Life Science Classroom, K- 12, this book provides you with what many think is the trickiest part of PBL: rich, authentic problems. The authors not only facilitated the National Science Foundation- funded PBL Project for Teachers but also perfected the problems in their own teaching. You can be confident that the problems and the teaching methods are teacher tested and approved. Let this book ignite your creativity through strategies that will help students develop a deeper understanding of science concepts and how to apply them.
Call Number: curr 550 MCC 2017ISBN: 9781941316191Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
-
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
-
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Web Resources
-
BioInteractiveIncludes science lesson plans, videos, animations, and slideshows
-
ChemCollective (Chemistry)Is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
-
Climate.govThe Teaching Climate section will support the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) Implementation through an integrated Earth system science approach in K-12 education.
-
The ExploratoriumThe Exploratorium is a museum of science, art, and human perception located in San Francisco, California. Its website offers a place where students can explore their curiosity and discover scientific concepts through videos, reading, educational games, and other activities.
-
Forensic FirstsForensic Firsts is a Smithsonian Channel podcast that examines how science can be used to solve crime mysteries.
-
Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago: Learning ResourcesA selection of hands-on activities that teachers can use offline in their classrooms.
-
NASA: Learning ResourcesNASA's Learning Resources offers STEM resources that connect educators, students, parents and caregivers to the inspiring work at NASA.
-
National Geographic: EducationEngage with National Geographic Explorers and transform learning experiences through live events, free maps, videos, interactives, and other resources.
-
National Park Service: GeologyThe National Park Service has organized all of the parks and their geological features on one Tour of Park Geology page. The Tour of Park Geology highlights fifteen geological features including fossils, caves, shorelines, and plate tectonics.
-
Nature LabNature Lab is The Nature Conservancy's youth curriculum platform.
-
NSTA: Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12NSTA, in conjunction with the Children’s Book Council, is pleased to announce the list of Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students. Representing the best science trade books published in the previous year for students in kindergarten through 12th grade, the books featured on the list include captivating stories, compelling characters, and beautiful illustrations.
-
Peep and the Big Wide WorldEach half-hour episode contains two stories which highlight specific science concepts, plus two live-action shorts presenting real kids playing and experimenting with these concepts in their own big wide worlds.
-
The Physics ClassroomThe Physics Classroom is an online, free-to-use physics website developed primarily for high school physics students and teachers. The website features a variety of sections intended to support both teachers and students in the tasks of learning and teaching physics.
-
Science FridayScience Friday partners with educators and scientists to create free STEM activities, lessons, and resources for all learners.
-
OpenSciEdOpenSciEd empowers educators to go beyond traditional science teaching methods by bringing together leading science researchers and educators to craft curriculum that is aligned to how students learn best.
-
ScistarterThis is the place to find out about, take part in, and contribute to science through recreational activities and research projects.
Simulations
-
CK-12 Exploration Series: ChemistryThe nonprofit CK-12 Foundation creates and aggregates high-quality STEM content. After setting up an account, educators and students can access more than 15,000 free resources in the form of text, video, audio, images, quizzes and interactive materials. Topics cover everything from algebra to life science to engineering and much more.
-
CK-12 Exploration Series: PhysicsThe nonprofit CK-12 Foundation creates and aggregates high-quality STEM content. After setting up an account, educators and students can access more than 15,000 free resources in the form of text, video, audio, images, quizzes and interactive materials. Topics cover everything from algebra to life science to engineering and much more.
-
GizmosFeaturing over 550 virtual, interactive STEM simulations all crafted to meet the latest educational standards, Gizmos empowers educators in grades 3-12 to transform classrooms with engaging online simulations that foster a deeper conceptual understanding of science, technology, engineering, and math subjects. Requires a paid subscription, but offers a 30-day free trial.
-
LabXChangeOur top-notch, ad-free virtual lab simulations are designed to help you achieve just that. Engage your learners with interactive, hands-on experiments that make science education more accessible and enjoyable than ever before.
-
PBS: SimBucketSimBucket has created a large number of original HTML5 physics, chemistry, and biology simulations. This curated group contains some of the most popular simulations from www.simbucket.com.
-
PhET (Math and Science)Creates free interactive math and science simulations.
-
SimPopSimPop simulations help you visualize and interact with physics, chemistry, and biology concepts.
