Standards and Resources
New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards. The Board of Regents adopted the newly revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards on September 11, 2017.
-
New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning StandardsThe New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards (2017) consist of revisions, additions, deletions, vertical movement, and clarifications of the current English Language Arts Standards. They are defined as the knowledge, skills, and understanding that individuals can and do habitually demonstrate over time when exposed to high-quality instructional environments and learning experiences.
Journal Articles
In the Education (Research Resources) LibGuide:
- Articles
- Professional Literature for a list of ELA/Literacy/Reading journals.
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
-
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
-
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Teaching Strategy Guides
-
Reading nonfiction : notice & note stances, signposts, and strategies
by
Call Number: curr 372.4 BEE 2016ISBN: 9780325050805Publication Date: 2015-10-20 -
Teaching advanced literacy skills : a guide for leaders in linguistically diverse schools
by
Call Number: curr 372.6 LES 2016ISBN: 9781462526468Publication Date: 2016-08-02 -
Critical Literacy : enhancing students' comprehension of text
by
Call Number: curr 372.6 MCL 2004ISBN: 9780439628044Publication Date: 2004-06-01 -
The Writing Strategies Book byCall Number: curr 372.6 SER 2017
Textbooks
-
Wonders. Grade K. Teacher's Edition
by
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 372.4 MCG 2016 Grade K TISBN: 9780021311644Publication Date: 2016 -
Wonders Grade 5
by
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 372.4 MCG 2020 Grade 5.1 TISBN: 9780079018281Publication Date: 2020
Web Resources
-
AdLit.orgAdLit.org is all about adolescent literature. On AdLit teachers can find book lists, video interviews with authors, and a comprehensive list of strategies for teaching reading and writing. The strategies page gives detailed descriptions of how to implement each strategy.
-
Creativity PortalThe Imagination Prompt Generator randomly generates prompts for starting a fictional story.
-
PicLitsPicLits provides users with images upon which they can build their writing. To get writers started, PicLits provides a list of words which can be dragged and dropped into sentence form.
-
Reading BearReading Bear is a free service that offers narrated lessons on recognizing and pronouncing letters and words.
-
StarfallOffers free online activities to help young students learn to read. Starfall covers everything from learning the alphabet to learning how to pronounce words.
-
Storyline OnlineOnline streaming video program
Questions? Ask Becky!
Becky Leathersich
She/Her/Hers
