Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UN News Centre
Current news from the UN News Service. Search by topic or using keyword search box at the top. Search defaults to search ONLY TODAY’s news--press the ▼ next to the search box for ADVANCED SEARCH and change the dates.
Search for UN resolutions, voting records for all resolutions which were adopted by the UN General Assembly, index to speeches and bibliographic records of earlier materials that are not yet in full-text online. (Tip: If you need full text, search by the UN Document symbol in ODS).
Search multiple UN statistical databases for a particular indicator or by country.
Hints & Tips
UN Documents vs. Publications: Documents are used internally and not officially published though they may be openly available to the public. Publications are for external use by policy-makers, scholars and the general public.
Multilateral vs Bilateral Treaties: A multilateral treaty is between three or more states and a blilateral treaty is between two states.
Control + F: Use this command to search within a document or site to quickly find the content for which you are looking.
UN Document Symbols: Learn about the components to the various symbols used to locate UN documents.
More on UN Document Symbols from Wikipedia.
The Bluebook by
Publication Date: 2010-05-02
How to cite UN sources pp. 198-205.
UN Pulse from U.N. Dag Hammarskjöld Library
United Nations (UN) Links
International Court of Justice
Includes decisions of legal disputes submitted to it by UN Member States and advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.
Statements from the UN Secretary General
Speeches and other documents given from the UN's Secretary General.
UN Agencies & Affiliated Organizations
Lists the six principal organs of the United Nations and the committees, organizations and agencies that report to them.
Quarterly magazine provides current information on UN activities. Includes important resolutions, votes and speeches. (Also be accesible via Academic Search Complete from 09/01/1996 to present).
UN Member Nations
A-Z list of member states, date of admission, and links to each country's UN home page. Many of these homepages provide links to the country's resulutions, press releases and other useful material.
UN Official Documents Search (ODS)
Full-text searching for all types of official United Nations documentations, beginning in 1993. It also provides access to the resolutions of the General assembly, Security Council, and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
UN on the Record
Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by country name.
UN Statistical Division
Gateway to statistical information from the UN including economic, demographic (demographic yearbook), social, environmental, geospatial, and for millenium development goal indicators.
UN Treaty Collection
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains information regarding the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs.
UN-I-QUE : United Nations Info Quest
a ready-reference file created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library to respond to frequently asked questions focuses upon documents and publications of a recurrent nature: annual/sessional reports of committees/commissions; annual publications; reports periodically/irregularly issued; reports of major conferences; statements in the General Debate; etc.
UNFPA WorldWide This link opens in a new window
Provides data on internal disparities, highlighting differences within countries such as urban and rural areas. Each country page features a population-policy profile that details current social and political contexts and policy priorities.
A detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks, 1945 to the most recent, are available online and provide citations to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook (Print)
International statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce.