Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
After connecting, click on Publications then on ”Country Reports” in the Browse column on the right. Reports are available from several publishers for most countries.
Use Advanced Search to find academic articles, news or industry information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search major national and international news sources. Use the "Browse" link in the upper right corner to find sources published within a particular country.
Reference Resources/ Getting Started
Specialized encyclopedias and other reference sources are a great place to begin your research. They provide an overview of your topic, suggest further reading, and can be a great resource when brainstorming search terms to use in databases when searching for books and articles.
Want more tips for getting started? Check out this guide on how to begin your research .
Encyclopedia of Nations
Information about one hundred ninety three countries in the world, information about the United Nations and the associated agencies, and World Leaders.
Encyclopedia of New York State (Print Reference Collection )
Includes 1,500 pages and over 4,000 signed entries of New York State: historic crossroads of people and ideas, cradle of abolitionism and feminism, apex of modern urban, suburban, and rural life. Call number: ref F119 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of rural America (Print Reference Collection)
Over 300 articles documenting the major themes, concepts, industries, concerns, and everyday life of the people and land who make up rural America Call Number: ref E169.12 .E5 1997
CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia
Entries describe the physical geography of every nation and dependency on Earth. A World Rankings appendix includes dozens of tables ranking major features of the Earth, such as largest river by length and volume, tallest mountains by continent, etc.
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
"Over 2,000 biographies of the world's major players in 20th-century politics.
Numerous quotations – revealing political thoughts and opinions of world leaders. A–Z arrangement of main text, and indexing by country."
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
In-depth analysis of the economic environment, statistics on current economic conditions, trends, and key demographics for 198 countries.
If you need help researching a country, state or city, sign up for a one-on-one Research Consultation with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.
Some country information you need may be in a language you cannot speak/read. To decipher information in other languages:
GDP, GNP & GNI in a nutshell
Gross National Product (GNP): sum of all the products and services based on citizenship of the owners rather than the territory. The GNP for the USA would take all the production of any American Nationals and add it up. So if an American is in another country, his production would be considered part of America's GNP.
Gross Domestic Product (GDP): the production that occurs within a country's (or state's) borders. In this case the production of that American in another country is part of that country's GDP but part of America's GNP.
Gross National Income (GNI): total value produced within a country (ie: GDP) combined with its income received from other countries.
Contact your subject librarian