Curricula and Standards
New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards. The Board of Regents adopted the newly revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards on September 11, 2017.
- New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning StandardsThe New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards (2017) consist of revisions, additions, deletions, vertical movement, and clarifications of the current English Language Arts Standards. They are defined as the knowledge, skills, and understanding that individuals can and do habitually demonstrate over time when exposed to high-quality instructional environments and learning experiences.
- ELA - Appendix AEnglish Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects - Appendix A - Research Supporting Key Elements of the Standards; Glossary of Key Terms
- ELA - Appendix BEnglish Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects - Appendix B - Text Exemplars and Sample Performance Tasks
- ELA - Apendix CEnglish Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects - Appendix C - Samples of Student Writing
Books in the Collection on Teaching Reading in ELA
Teaching Literary Elements with Picture Books by Call Number: curr CC 372.6 V36 2009ISBN: 9780439027991Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom by Call Number: curr CC 372.6 H37 2010ISBN: 9781420623635Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Young Adult Literature by Call Number: PN1009.A1 B79 2006ISBN: 0131118412Publication Date: 2005-07-01
The Art of Teaching Reading by Call Number: LB1573 .C185 2001ISBN: 0321080599Publication Date: 2000-08-18
Teaching Strategy Guides
- Critical Literacy Across the K-6 Curriculum by Through stories from kindergarten to sixth grade classrooms where students and teachers have attempted to put a critical edge on their teaching, this book shows critical literacy in action across the curriculum. Readers see students and teachers together using critical literacy discourse to frame conversations in ways that engage students in examining the meaning of the texts they read and acting on local and global social issues that emerge. Drawing on multiple perspectives such as cross-curricular explorations, multimedia, and child-centered inquiry pedagogies, the text features a theoretical toolkit; demonstrations from across the content areas including art, music, and media literacy; integration of technology; and attention to how critical literacy can inform decisions about standards and assessment. Annotated booklists, examples of students' work, Reflection Questions, Try This(practical classroom strategies), and Resource Boxes can be used to encourage and support engaging in critical literacy work in different areas of the curriculum.Call Number: curr 372.6 VAS 2017
- Learning to Read and Write byCall Number: curr 372.6 NEU 2000
- Literacy in the Disciplines by This book gives all teachers in grades 5-12 practical strategies for building the unique literacy skills that students need for success in their respective subject areas. Drawing from interviews with leading educators and professionals in science, mathematics, history, the arts, and other disciplines, the authors explain what disciplinary literacy is and discuss ways to teach close reading of complex texts, discipline-specific argumentation skills, academic vocabulary, the use of multimodal tools and graphic organizers, and more. User-friendly features include classroom materials, lesson plans, practice activities, and recommended online teaching videos. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the book's 20 reproducible forms in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.Call Number: curr 372.4 WOO 2017
- Research-Based Strategies for English Language Learners by As a teacher, you know that two of the biggest issues in education today are increased accountability and surging ELL enrollments. So what do you do when every student in your class is expected to meet standards, but some don't speak English? You reach for Research-Based Strategies for English Language Learners. It features ways to support all students while meeting curricular mandates-and without losing any precious planning or teaching time. Research-Based Strategies for English Language Learners addresses standards through four proven, effective scaffolds for learning: modeling, contextualizing, thinking about thinking, and reframing information. Within each scaffold Denise Rea and Sandra Mercuri offer ideas for strategy-based instruction that make learning more active, experiential, collaborative, and cognitive for all children. Rea and Mercuri give you everything you need to use these strategies, including lesson plans and suggestions on implementation, as well as a review of the research supporting each lesson and scaffold. Finally, they tie it all together with lessons on conversational and academic English that give students the linguistic awareness needed to become more proficient in their new language and to succeed in school. Useable across curricular areas, adaptable to grades K-8, and ideal for classroom teachers, ELL specialists, and Title I teachers, Research-Based Strategies for English Language Learners is the practical, classroom-tested resource you've been looking for. Use it and discover reliable strategies for connecting second language learners (or any learners) to content and curriculum.Call Number: curr 372.6 REA 2005
- The Writing Strategies Book by Visit heinemann.com/writingstrategiesbook/ where you'll find blog posts, videos from Jen Serravallo, community features, and more information on The Writing Strategies Book. The Reading Strategies Book made the New York Times Best Seller List by making it simpler to match students' needs to high-quality instruction. Now, in The Writing Strategies Book, Jen Serravallo does the same, collecting 300 of the most effective strategies to share with writers, and grouping them beneath 10 crucial goals. "You can think of the goals as the what, "writes Jen, "and the strategies as the how." From composing with pictures all the way to conventions and beyond, you'll have just-right teaching, just in time. With Jen's help you'll: develop individual goals for every writer give students step-by-step strategies for writing with skill and craft coach writers using prompts aligned to a strategy present mentor texts that support a genre and strategy adjust instruction to meet individual needs with Jen's Teaching Tips demonstrate and explain a writing move with her Lesson Language learn more with Hat Tips to the work of influential teacher-authors. She even offers suggestions for stocking your writing center, planning units of study, celebrating student writing, and keeping records. Whether you use Writing Workshop, 6+1 Traits, Daily 5's "Work on Writing," a scripted writing program, the writing exercises in your basal, or any other approach, you'll discover a treasure chest of ways to work with whole classes, small groups, or individual writers. "I am convinced that helping kids to articulate clear goals for their work," writes Jen Serravallo, "and supporting them with strategies and feedback to accomplish those goals, makes a huge difference." With The Writing Strategies Book you can make that kind of difference with your writers every day.Call Number: curr 372.6 SER 2017
Textbooks
- Literature, Grade 6, Common Core Edition byCall Number: curr TEXTBOOK 808.8 HOL 2012
- Pearson common core literature byCall Number: curr TEXTBOOK 808.8 PEA 2015
- Treasures: A reading/language arts program byCall Number: curr TEXTBOOK 372.4 MCG 2011
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Web Resources
- AdLit.orgAdLit.org is all about adolescent literature. On AdLit teachers can find book lists, video interviews with authors, and a comprehensive list of strategies for teaching reading and writing. The strategies page gives detailed descriptions of how to implement each strategy.
- Creativity PortalThe Imagination Prompt Generator randomly generates prompts for starting a fictional story.
- palsA screening, diagnostic, and progress monitoring tool for measuring the fundamental components of literacy.
- PicLitsPicLits provides users with images upon which they can build their writing. To get writers started, PicLits provides a list of words which can be dragged and dropped into sentence form.
- Reading BearReading Bear is a free service that offers narrated lessons on recognizing and pronouncing letters and words.
- StarfallOffers free online activities to help young students learn to read. Starfall covers everything from learning the alphabet to learning how to pronounce words.
- Storyline OnlineOnline streaming video program
- The Seussville PlaygroundThe Seussville Playground has fun online games that kids can play and printable resources for offline use. The games and the printable resources are designed with themes to match various Dr. Seuss books.
- Using folktale themes in the classroomThis collection of story-related activities, projects and games-developed by storyteller/author Heather Forest for her storytelling workshops with students, teachers, and librarians-can be used by educators in a school setting to encourage speaking, listening, reading and writing skills.
ELA/English/Reading Journals
In journal articles:
Search for articles in ERIC, Education Research Complete or Education Journals using the following search strategies:
More help with journal article searching.
Journal titles for ELA/Reading
- Language Arts is a professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers and teacher educators.
- English Journal is a journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools.
- The Reading Teacher is a peer-reviewed journal that provides research-based teaching ideas to literacy educators working with children up to age 12.
