Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science Curricula and Standards
Teaching Reading in Science
Reading Strategy Lessons for Science and Social Studies by
Call Number: curr CC 372.41 R64 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
The Essentials of Science and Literacy by
Call Number: LB1585 .E89 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-05
Science : reading strategies by
Call Number: curr CT 372.3 F311sr 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Science for Special Students
Science Teaching Guides
Inquiring Scientists, Inquiring Readers in Middle School by
Great news for multitasking middle school teachers: Science educators Terry Shiverdecker and Jessica Fries-Gaither can help you blend inquiry-based science and literacy instruction to support student learning and maximize your time. Several unique features make Inquiring Scientists, Inquiring Readers in Middle School a valuable resource: Lessons integrate all aspects of literacy--reading, writing, speaking, listening, and viewing. The texts are relevant nonfiction, including trade books, newspaper and magazine articles, online material, infographics, and even videos. A learning-cycle framework helps students deepen their understanding with data collection and analysis before reading about a concept. Ten investigations support current standards and encompass life, physical, and Earth and space sciences. Units range from "Chemistry, Toys, and Accidental Inventions" to "Thermal Energy: An Ice Cube's Kryptonite!" The authors have made sure the book is teacher-friendly. Each unit comes with scientific background, a list of common misconceptions, an annotated text list, safety considerations, differentiation strategies, reproducible student pages, and assessments. This middle school resource is a follow-up to the authors' award-winning Inquiring Scientists, Inquiring Readers for grades 3-5, which one reviewer called "very thorough, and any science teacher's dream to read." The book will change the way you think about engaging your students in science and literacy.
Call Number: curr 507.1 SHI 2016
Problem-Based Learning in the Earth and Space Science Classroom, K-12 by
If you've ever asked yourself whether problem-based learning (PBL) can bring new life to both your teaching and your students' learning, here's your answer: Yes. This all-in-one guide will help you engage your students in scenarios that represent real-world science in all its messy, thought-provoking glory. The scenarios will prompt K-12 students to work collaboratively on analyzing problems, asking questions, posing hypotheses, and constructing solutions This book is both informative and practical. In addition to complete lesson plans that support the Next Generation Science Standards, the book offers extensive examples, instructions, and tips. The lessons cover four categories: Earth's landforms and water, the rock cycle and plate tectonics, weather, and astronomy. Just like Problem-Based Learning in the Life Science Classroom, K-12, this book provides you with what many think is the trickiest part of PBL: rich, authentic problems. The authors not only facilitated the National Science Foundation-funded PBL Project for Teachers but also perfected the problems in their own teaching. You can be confident that the problems and the teaching methods are teacher tested and approved. Let this book ignite your creativity through strategies that will help students develop a deeper understanding of science concepts and how to apply them.
Call Number: curr 550 MCC 2017
Science Worksheets Don't Grow Dendrites by
Best-selling author and renowned educator Marcia L. Tate brings her trademark practicality to teachers seeking the latest brain-compatible tools for engaging students and bringing science to life in the classroom. Co-authored with award-winning science teacher Warren G. Phillips, this must-have resource includes 20 proven brain-compatible strategies and 250 activities for applying them. Teachers will find concrete ways to integrate national science content standards into their curriculum with visual, auditory, kinesthetic, and tactile experiences that maximize retention, including: - Music, rhythm, rhyme and rap - Storytelling and humor - Graphic organizers, semantic maps, and word webs - Manipulatives, experiments, labs, and models - Internet and Excel projects The book covers a full range of primary and secondary science subjects, including physical, life, earth and space science, and provides brain-compatible sample lesson plans. Each chapter offers real-life examples; a what, why, and how for each strategy; activities; and note pages for brainstorming how to implement these exciting new ideas.
Call Number: curr 372.3 TAT 2011
STEM by Design by
How do you create effective STEM classrooms that energize students, help them grow into creative thinkers and collaborators, and prepare them for their futures? This practical book from expert Anne Jolly has all the answers and tools you need to get started or enhance your current program. Based on the author#65533;s popular MiddleWeb blog of the same name, STEM by Design reveals the secrets to successful lessons in which students use science, math, and technology to solve real-world engineering design problems. You#65533;ll learn how to: Select and adapt quality existing STEM lessons that present authentic problems, allow for creative approaches, and engage students in meaningful teamwork; Create your own student-centered STEM lessons based on the Engineering Design Process; Assess students#65533; understanding of basic STEM concepts, their problem-solving abilities, and their level of engagement with the material; Teach STEM in after-school programs to further build on concepts covered in class; Empower girls to aspire to careers in STEM and break down the barriers of gender bias; Tap into STEM's project-based learning style to attract and engage all students. Throughout this user-friendly book, you#65533;ll find design tools such as checklists, activities, and assessments to aid you in developing or adapting STEM lessons. These tools, as well as additional teacher resources, are also available as free downloads from the book#65533;s website, http://www.stem-by-design.com.
Call Number: curr 372.3 JOL 2017
This is just a sampling of books from the collection, for more titles visit GLOCAT.
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 570 PEA 2014
Chemistry - Concepts and Applications by
This compelling conceptual presentation actively engages students to excite them about chemistry. Features include: Offers exclusive Dinah Zike Foldables#65533; which are research-based methods for organizing information Provides strong visual literacy that is supported by Concepts in Motion animations Access the Personal Tutor for the exclusive tutorial guide of selected chemistry concepts Engage in diverse lab options at point-of-use, which include unique Try at Home Labs
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 540 MCG 2014
Glencoe Earth Science by
Glencoe Earth Science brings alive the forces that shape the world and engages students of all levels. Whether you're looking for a textbook-based program, a fully digital curriculum, or something in between, Glencoe Earth Science gives you the groundwork to help you bring the wonders of our world down to earth. The print student edition of Glencoe Earth Science is designed to support a broad range of learners and build 21st century skills through inquiry and problem solving.
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 550 MCG 2013
Glencoe Physical IScience, Grade 8, Student Edition by
The Middle School iScience series offers opportunities for deep study in each strand of science. Students get the same rich content as the integrated series, but organized for more concentrated study at each grade level. iScience meets students where they are through engaging graphic novel-style features and thought-provoking questions that encourage them to relate the science concepts to the world around them. The inquiry-based 5E lesson cycle provides active, hands-on explorations of the concepts.Physical iScience is part of a three-book series along with Life iScience and Earth iScience. Earth iScience provides students with accurate and comprehensive coverage of Earth and space science. The strong content coverage integrates a wide range of hands-on experiences, critical thinking opportunities, and real-world applications. Includes: Print Physical iScience Print Student Edition
Call Number: curr TEXTBOOK 500.2 MCG 2012
This is just a sampling of books from the collection, for more titles visit GLOCAT.
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
You may search by topic in any of the database below. For languages other than English, enter the name of the target language in database search box (for example, spanish language). Also search under terms related to target language without adding the term for the language. For example, search under terms related to culture such as Mexico, Mexican, Puerto Rico, etc. (place names, people).
All versions of the database provide FULL TEXT and LEXILE READING LEVELS of magazine articles for children and young adults. They also include some encyclopedia and dictionary articles. For full text, select pdf whenever you have a choice.
For paper copies of some children's/young adults' magazines, see Wadsworth Public Library on Center Street in Geneseo.
Also see databases under News (and other subjects) on Milne Library's LibGuides by Subject pages for articles in popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for middle or high school students.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
ARKive is creating the a multimedia guide to the world's endangered animals, plants and fungi.
Includes science lesson plans, videos, animations, and slideshows
The Teaching Climate section will support the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) Implementation through an integrated Earth system science approach in K-12 education.
The Exploratorium is a museum of science, art, and human perception located in San Francisco, California. Its website offers a place where students can explore their curiosity and discover scientific concepts through videos, reading, educational games, and other activities.
Is a Smithsonian Channel television show that examines how science can be used to solve crime mysteries.
Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago
A great selection of hands-on activities that teachers can use offline in their classrooms.
NASA's website is full of great resources for teachers and students. NASA's Education Materials Finder will help teachers locate resources that can be used in the classroom.
National Geographic education
Find multimedia activities, lessons, and units aligned with national standards.
National Park Service
The National Park Service has organized all of the parks and their geological features on one Tour of Park Geology page. The Tour of Park Geology highlights fifteen geological features including fossils, caves, shorelines, and plate tectonics.
Nature Works Everywhere
Is a web site created by The Nature Conservancy, that features a game where students try to identify connections between common consumer items and the conservation issues connected to it.
Peep and the Big Wide World
Each half-hour episode contains two stories which highlight specific science concepts, plus two live-action shorts presenting real kids playing and experimenting with these concepts in their own big wide worlds.
Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET™ project at the University of Colorado.
The Physics Classroom
The Physics Classroom is an online, free-to-use physics website developed primarily for high school physics students and teachers. The website features a variety of sections intended to support both teachers and students in the tasks of learning and teaching physics.
Science Friday partners with educators and scientists to create free STEM activities, lessons, and resources for all learners.
This is the place to find out about, take part in, and contribute to science through recreational activities and research projects.
Searching for journal articles
Teaching Science Journal Titles: