Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Textbooks/Curriculum Material in French and Spanish
Search the TERC Catalog
Teaching Strategy/Learning Activity Guides
Search the TERC catalog
Try searching for ELL, or ESL, or the specific language
Teaching Reading in World Languages
Search the TERC catalog
*Tips -Search for content area reading in foreign languages or a specific language or ELL/ESL
A few books in our collection:
- Reading in a Foreign Language byCall Number: P53.75 .R42 1984ISBN: 0582553725Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Teaching Reading and Writing in Spanish and English in Bilingual and Dual Language Classrooms by Call Number: LB1577.S7 F74 2006ISBN: 9780325008011Publication Date: 2006-03-14
Best Practices in ELL Instruction by Call Number: PE1128.A2 B47 2010ISBN: 9781606236628Publication Date: 2010-04-24
Non-Native Language Teachers by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780387245652Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Improving Reading Skills Across the Content Areas by Call Number: curr CC 373.41 R69 2006ISBN: 1412904595Publication Date: 2005-11-11
Web Resources
- Digital DialectsA large selection of educational games and activities for learning sixty different languages.
- Literacy Center Education NetworkProvides young students with online learning activities in four languages, English, Spanish, German, and French.
- MERLOTMERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy.
- MOSIACThe Center for Applied Second Language Studies (CASLS) at the University of Oregon is proud to make available to second language teachers an exciting collection of content-based curricular materials in French, Spanish and Japanese.
- The Story PlaceThe Story Place features digital stories in English and Spanish for students of pre-school age through elementary school.
Journal Articles
In journal articles
- See SAMPLE SEARCH, then see instructions for searching in multiple education databases at once.
More help with journal article searching.
Journal Titles: (limit your search in any of the Education databases to one or more of these journals)
Foreign Language Annals
Language Teaching Research
Reading in a Foreign Language
Second Language Research
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Electronic Journal of Foreign Language Teaching (this jounal is online with the full-text)
The Language Learning Journal
