Curricula and Standards (Social Studies)
- New York State K-12 Social Studies Resource ToolkitWithin the Toolkit are 84 inquiries: six at each grade K-11 and twelve at grade 12 (six each for Economics and Participation in Government). Each of the inquiries features a blueprint and a short description of how the inquiry might be taught. Fourteen of the inquiries (one at each grade K-11 and two at grade 12) are fully annotated with explanations.
- NYSED: K-12 Social Studies Framework The New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework is designed to prepare students for college, careers, and civic life with courses that are rigorous and aligned to the New York State Learning Standards for Social Studies. This Framework consists of a single three-part document--the Introduction to the Framework, Grades K-8 and Grades 9-12. The original Framework was published in 2014. Subsequently the K-8 document was revised in 2016.
Teaching Reading in Social Studies
- Teaching reading in social studies: A Supplement to Teaching Reading in the Content Areas byCall Number: curr CC 372.41 D68 2003Publication Date: 2005
Social studies: Reading Strategies by Call Number: curr CT 372.8 F311so 2001ISBN: 0130237981Publication Date: 2001
Reading Strategy Lessons for Science and Social Studies by Call Number: TERC curr 372.4 ROB 2009ISBN: 9780439926423Publication Date: 2009-02-01- Social studies: Reading strategies byCall Number: curr CT 372.8 F311so 2001Publication Date: 2001
History Journals
In journal articles
- See SAMPLE SEARCH, then see instructions for searching in multiple education databases at once.
Teaching History Journal Titles:
Subject Specific Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Textbooks, Teaching Guides, and More (Social Studies)
- American history byCall Number: curr TEXTBOOK 973 PEA 2016
- Jumpstart! History by This collection of simple to use and fun activities will jumpstart pupils' understanding of the historical skills of chronology, enquiry, historical inference and knowledge and understanding of people, places and time. History is an effective way to engage pupils in a topic and can act as a fantastic hook for learning. This book will enable you to make history a fundamental part of your classroom, to enhance not only the pupils' historical understanding but also to deepen their understanding in other subjects. Areas covered include:- Egyptians Ancient Greeks and Romans Saxons, Vikings and Normans Stone Age Bronze Age Iron Age Tudors and Stuarts Victorians World War Two Post-War Britain This indispensable classroom resourcewill celebrate history and give children the opportunity to experience the thrill of finding out about the past. It will be a lifeline to any classroom teacher looking to teach history in a fun and exciting way.Call Number: curr 372.89 WHI 2015
- Social Studies for the Twenty-First Century by Now in its 4th edition, this popular text offers practical, interesting, exciting ways to teach social studies and a multitude of instructional and professional resources for teachers. Theory, curriculum, methods, and assessment are woven into a comprehensive model for setting objectives; planning lessons, units, and courses; choosing classroom strategies; and constructing tests for some of the field's most popular and enduring programs. The reflective and integrative framework emphasizes building imagination, insight, and critical thinking into everyday classrooms; encourages problem-solving attitudes and behavior; and provokes analysis, reflection, and debate. The text includes separate chapters on teaching each of the major areas of the social studies curriculum. Throughout the text, all aspects of curriculum and instruction are viewed from a tripartite perspective that divides social studies instruction into didactic (factual), reflective (analytical), and affective (judgmental) components. These three components are seen as supporting one another, building the groundwork for taking stands on issues, past and present. At the center is the author's belief that the heart and soul of social studies instruction, perhaps all teaching, lies in stimulating the production of ideas; looking at knowledge from others' viewpoints; and formulating for oneself a set of goals, values, and beliefs that can be explained and justified in open discussion. New in the Fourth Edition: Clear links to the The National Council for the Social Studies College, Career and Civic Life C3 Framework for Social Studies State Standards Attention to impact of high-stakes testing, Common Core State Standards, and related ongoing developments Expanded and critical review of the use of internet, web, and PowerPoint technologies Coverage of how to incorporate the many social science, humanities, and STEM fields to enrich the social studies Updates and revisions throughout, including new research reports reflecting current findings, new examples, more media and materials resources, particularly digital resources, new and updated pedagogical features Companion Website - new for this editionCall Number: curr 300 ZEV 2015
- Teaching the American Revolution Through Play by We all know the Declaration of Independence was signed in 1776, but too often we forget that the colonies were almost a year into the Revolutionary War by the time of the signing. Can you replicate historical success? Or will your colonies fall back under British rule? Building upon 1775: Rebellion, an award winning board game, this book presents a week-long unit with detailed lesson plans, primary source documents, and additional instructional resources for teaching the American Revolution through play. Exclusive print-and-play game Intolerable Acts designed for classroom use by Brian Mayer and Christopher Harris.Game:1775: Rebellion. Beau Beckett, Jeph Stahl. Academy Games, 2013.Call Number: curr 973 HAR 2015
- Teaching the college, career, and civic life (C3) framework : exploring inquiry-based instruction in social studies byCall Number: curr 300 TEA 2014
- Understanding and Teaching American Slavery by Perhaps no topic in U.S. history is as emotionally fraught as the nation's centuries-long entanglement with slavery. How can teachers get students to understand the racist underpinnings of that institution--and to acknowledge its legacies in contemporary America? How can they overcome students' shame, anger, guilt, or denial? How can they incorporate into the classroom important primary sources that may contain obsolete and racist terms, images, and ideas? This book, designed for college and high school teachers, is a critical resource for understanding and teaching this challenging topic in all its complexity. Opening with Ira Berlin's reflections on ten elements that are essential to include in any course on this topic, Understanding and Teaching American Slavery offers practical advice for teaching specific content, utilizing sources, and getting students to think critically. Contributors address, among other topics, slavery and the nation's founders, the diverse experiences of the enslaved, slavery's role in the Civil War, and the relationship between slavery and the northern economy. Other chapters offer ideas for teaching through slave narratives, runaway ads, spirituals, films, and material culture. Taken together, the essays in the volume help instructors tackle problems, discover opportunities, and guide students in grappling with the ugliest truths of America's past.Call Number: curr 973 UND 2016
- World history byCall Number: curr TEXTBOOK 909 PEA 2016 T
Search the TERC catalog for more titles
Finding Books on Your Topic
GLOCAT (Choose the TERC tab)
Need ideas? Try this link - Notable Social Studies Trade Books For Young People
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Web Resources
- Beyond the Bubble: A new generation of history assessmentsProvides teachers with lessons and rubrics that they can use to help their students analyze primary source documents.
- Crash CourseTen to twelve minute videos, with overviews of major concepts and themes on U.S. History and World History.
- Masters of TraditionMasters of Tradition is an interactive story map that allows students to explore the great diversity of cultures, communities, and artistic traditions that enrich the United States. Through abundant photographs, audio, video, short text, and first-person quotes, the story map addresses a variety of key themes, including immigration, migration, identity, heritage, and community.
- National Archives' DocsTeach DocsTeach is a product of the National Archives education division. Our mission is to engage, educate, and inspire all learners to discover and explore the records of the American people preserved by the National Archives.
- New American HistoryNew American History helps educators and learners preparing to do research (including their National History Day projects!), develop cross-curricular Project-Based Learning opportunities, develop station based learning experiences, teach students skills to evaluate print and digital resources, and recommend high-quality tools and resources for inquiry-based learning.
- Notable Books for a Global Society25 outstanding trade books for enhancing student understanding of people and cultures throughout the world.
- Playing HistoryThere are tons of free historical games, interactives and simulations on the web. Playing history aggregates info on these resources in a simple, searchable database making it easy to find, rate, and review historical games.
- UntoldUntold is a free collection of short, compelling, history videos and animations designed to engage new audiences in a new conversation and shine a light on the stories that don’t always make it into the classroom and question what we think we know about those that do. Not everything worth knowing exists inside the cover of our history textbooks. Untold is here to fill in the gaps and bring new stories to life.
Teaching with Primary Sources
- American MemoryVisit https://www.loc.gov/collections for the full collection.
- Rochester HistoryThis database offers full-text articles written by the historian(s) of the city of Rochester. Although the articles themselves are secondary sources, they are based on primary sources. Articles cover all eras of Rochester and Western New York history.
- The Rochester Images databaseIncludes historical and contemporary pictures, maps and manuscripts about Rochester and Monroe County.
