Books/Media/Manipulatives
*Tips for finding books on special education: Use subject terms below to search in our library catalog for materials on specific disabilites
- Aphasic children
- Aphasic persons
- Autism Autistic children
- Cerebral palsy
- Cerebral palsied children
- Blind
- Deaf Children
- Visual* impair* [asterisk will find visual impairments or visually impaired]
- Developmentally disabled children
- Dyslexia
- Dyslexic children
- Epileptic children
- Exceptional children
- Hyperactive children
- Learning disabled
- Learning disabled children
- Children with mental disabilities [includes mental retardation and other mental disabilities]
- People with mental disabilities [includes mental retardation and other mental disabilities]
- Mental Retardation
- Children with perceptual disabilities
- People with perceptual disabilities
- Children with physical disabilities
- People with physical disabilities
- Children with social disabilities
- People with social disabilities
- Mentally ill
- Mentally ill children
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
The databases below offer children's/young adult magazines. The database content will offer full text and Lexile reading levels.
You can also browse databases under News and Ready Reference for articles in popular magazines such as TIME, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for K-12 students.
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new windowCreated specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Web Resources
- Free Resources From The Net For Special EducationTools to help individuals use technology to overcome a wide range of barriers.
- iPad Apps for Special EducationIn the special education section of the App Store you'll find dozens of applications (both free and paid) for literacy, organization, emotional development, dictation applications, sign language, and more.
- Teacher SolExceptional Needs Specialist Maria Angala shares what’s going on in her class as well as updates on her battle to improve special education here.
- Teaching All StudentsIntegrating assistive technology and students with disabilities.
- Teaching Learners with Multiple Special NeedsStrategies for using technology in the special education classroom.
- The Schneider Family Book AwardThe Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
Books in our collection
Differentiated Instructional Strategies for Reading in the Content Areas by Call Number: LB1050.455 .C52 2003ISBN: 9780761938248Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Inclusion Strategies That Work! by Call Number: curr CC 371.9 K36 2005ISBN: 1412905249Publication Date: 2004-10-12
Strategies for Including Children with Special Needs in Early Childhood Settings by Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 0585415919Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Strategies for Teaching Adolescents with ADHD by Call Number: LC4713.2 .D47 2009ISBN: 9780470246719Publication Date: 2009-11-09
Teaching Adolescents with Autism by Call Number: LC4718 .K39 2011ISBN: 9781412995290Publication Date: 2011-05-11
