Accessing the Teacher Education Resource Center (TERC) and Imaginarium During Milne Library Closure
|
|
The TERC Collection is now available in Fraser Hall Library. It has children's and young adult books, dolls and puppets, toys and games, manipulatives, and more.
|
 |
The Imaginarium is now located in the Research Help office in Fraser Hall Library. It is open during business hours. It is a creative space for students to work on projects, such as lesson plan materials. Supplies are limited; when possible, please bring your own construction paper, cardstock, and poster board. |
What Are Text Sets?
A text set is a collection of sources that support a common theme, issue or topic. Text sets should include a variety of genres, text types, levels and formats.
Examples of material include (but are not limited to):
- fiction (novels, picture books, short stories)
- non fiction
- poetry
- images
- newspaper and magazine articles
- apps
- webcasts and podcasts
- websites
- artwork
- songs
- primary sources (interviews, documents, artifacts)
Additional Resources on Creating Text Sets
- Creating text sets for whole class instruction: English Language Arts, grades K-12Discusses common core standards and text sets
- Creating Text Sets for Your ClassroomA brief overview of creating text sets
- Teaching with text setsA blog post detailing the New York City tree text set from the book "Teaching with Text Sets" by Mary Ann Cappiello and Erika Thulin Dawes.
- Create Text SetsStep by step guide to creating text sets, including a video.
Finding Poetry/Music
- Poetry FoundationThe children’s poet laureate aims to raise awareness that children have a natural receptivity to poetry.
- Poets.orgCreative and inexpensive suggestions for making poetry a more important part of school life during April and throughout the year.
How to Create Text Sets
What steps are involved in putting together a text set?
- Start with the content - what do students need to know or in other words -- what do you need to teach?
- Build the text set - find material that supports the content you want to teach and want students to learn.
- Organize the texts - how and when will you use the texts?
- Creating and responding to texts - how will students work with the texts, what will they do with the texts? (Cappiello, 2013)
A few essential questions to ask and/or issues to consider when assembling a text set.
- Think about the standards. What are students expected to know and be able to do? This can dictate the topics/themes chosen.
- What do you (the teacher) want students to know (beyond the standards)?
- What topics/themes/content will engage and excite students (Cappiello, 2013)?
Cappiello, M. A., & Dawes, E. T. (2013). Teaching with text sets. Huntington Beach, Calif: Shell Education.
Finding Magazines/Newspaper Articles
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new windowGale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Kids Discover magazinesMagazine samplings and free lesson plans and resources
Finding Websites/Apps
- Guide to finding websitesLibrary guide listing online teaching and general resources.
- Great Websites for Kids - American Library AssociationInternet guide of child-safe sites selected by a committee of the American Library Association.
- School Library JournalSLJ review of apps
Finding Fiction/Non-Fiction Material
When selecting fiction and non fiction material for a text set, consider the following criteria/issues.
- Is it age/grade level/developmentally appropriate for my students?
- Are there reviews available?
- What book lists are available?
Use the given links to find material and answer the above questions.
- GLOCAT (Advanced Search)Search SUNY Geneseo's Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content.
- Guide to finding books/ebooksThis page contains information on finding books in Milne and using IDS search.
Finding Audio/Videos
In addition to the links below, try an advanced Google search for audio or video, your topic, and limit to museums, zoos, archives, government agencies, or universities. i.e. "civil war" and (audio or video) and (museum* OR archive* OR zoo* OR government)
Finding Primary Sources
Reading Level Guides
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new windowThe CLCD is the premier academic and research resource for courses needing to locate Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over one million of fiction/non-fiction titles, thousands of awards and quality reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The database offers multiple options including 50 search filters to find materials for determining interest & reading levels; selecting trade books based on standards; creating thematic, annotated biographies; interpreting reviews; developing classroom collections and more.
- Lexile Framework for ReadingSearch for a specific books or a list of books
- Teacher Book WizardUse Quick Search to search for reading difficulty and interest level of a specific book title, or use Leveled Search to find a list of books by reading difficulty level. Includes lesson plans, more.
