Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communicative Disorder Books/Media and Realia
Search using the terms listed below or perform your own topical search.
Search Terms -- aphasia OR articulation OR audiolog* OR "auditory perception" or processing OR cleft palate or ("communicative disorders" and (intervention or treatment or teach* or learn* or activit*)) OR "conversational skills" or "hearing impaired" or phonology or phonetics or sequencing or stutter*
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
You may search by topic in any of the database below. For languages other than English, enter the name of the target language in database search box (for example, spanish language). Also search under terms related to target language without adding the term for the language. For example, search under terms related to culture such as Mexico, Mexican, Puerto Rico, etc. (place names, people).
All versions of the database provide FULL TEXT and LEXILE READING LEVELS of magazine articles for children and young adults. They also include some encyclopedia and dictionary articles. For full text, select pdf whenever you have a choice.
For paper copies of some children's/young adults' magazines, see Wadsworth Public Library on Center Street in Geneseo.
Also see databases under News (and other subjects) on Milne Library's LibGuides by Subject pages for articles in popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for middle or high school students.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Baylor University: "Cultural Considerations for Communication and Swallowing Disorders"
This resource discusses the history of cultural considerations in speech-language pathology and how speech pathologists have previously been able to separate someone's cultural tendencies and language from an actual speech disorder. The article discusses how it's essential for SLP's to have an understanding of "cultural competence" and be able to understand and respect and individuals' cultural tendencies such as accent, dialect differences, and language barriers. There is also information on how speech pathologists should also consider their own cultural bias when trying to decide whether a patient has a "difference" in dialogue or a real disorder that is affecting their ability to communicate or swallow properly. A detailed infographic that gives tips on how to integrate cultural considerations and differences into professional treatment for swallowing and hearing disorders is also listed towards the end of the article.
Helping Children with Communication Disorders in the Schools
Answers to frequently asked questions on how to help children with communication disorders, particularly in regards to speaking, listening, reading, and writing.
Interventions to Improve Communication
Journal article -- discusses the development of early, prelinguistic communicative behaviors that lead to the emergence of language, and examines intervention for children who produce language, but have difficulty using it appropriately for social interaction.
Social Communication Disorders in School-Age Children
The scope of these pages is limited to social communication disorders in school-age children (5-21 years old); social communication resources for preschool and early adult populations will be developed at a later date.
Student Support Services (ed.gov)
This book is designated to be used as a guide to understanding and providing support for children with communication impairments.